View Mobile Site

KC educators receive NB certification/recertification

Posted: December 8, 2011 5:27 p.m.
Updated: December 9, 2011 5:00 a.m.

Eleven Kershaw County educators -- three first-time applicants and eight renewals -- have earned the highest credential available in the teaching profession, bringing the current total number of district employees who are National Board certified (NBC) to 139.

“I commend these employees for successfully completing this rigorous process,” said Kershaw County School District Superintendent Frank Morgan. “It brings great distinction to our schools to have educators who have earned this national honor.”

Kershaw County teachers who achieved National Board certification this school year include: Stephanie Desjarlais, Doby’s Mill Elementary; Marc (Richard) Dyer, Lugoff-Elgin High; and Anne Lemieux, Lugoff-Elgin Middle.

Eight employees who had previously been National Board certified renewed their certification after their initial 10-year periods.  These teachers were Patrick Hinson and Lisa Twitty, Camden High; Jennifer Ard and Lori Welch, Doby’s Mill Elementary; Debbie Sheppard, Elizabeth Crocker and  Melody Johnson, Lugoff Elementary; and Vickie Eggert, Lugoff-Elgin High.

Twenty percent of Kershaw County’s teaching force is National Board certified.

National Board Certification is a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.  Teachers seeking National Board Certification undertake a two-part process that takes from one to three years to complete.

The process requires candidates to reflect on their classroom practices, their understanding of subject material and their preparation techniques. In addition to preparing a portfolio with videotapes of classroom teaching, lesson plans, student work samples and reflective essays, teachers must complete assessment center exercises based on content knowledge that proves they have mastered the subjects they teach and also know how to teach them.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...