View Mobile Site

Mental Health Kershaw County presents awards at annual membership meeting

Posted: January 12, 2012 12:51 p.m.
Updated: January 13, 2012 5:00 a.m.

Present during the ceremony were (from left) Debbie Massalon, executive director of MHAKC; Clifton Harryton Anderson, community consultant; Matia Williams Goodwin, recipient of the Mary Francis Harper Humanitarian Award; Rosalind Watson, recipient of the Jennie Lee Carter Community Service Award; and Rev. William Gaither, board chair of MHAKC.

Mental Health America of Kershaw County (MHAKC) held its 49th annual membership dinner meeting Nov. 10 in the fellowship center at First Baptist Church in Camden. Joy Jay, executive director of Mental Health America of South Carolina, introduced the guest speaker, Alyce Kemp DeWitt.

Clifton Harryton Anderson, community consultant to MHAKC, presented two special awards. The Jennie Lee Carter Community Service award named after a former educator and former Chair of MHAKC was presented to Rosalind Watson. Watson is the director of Kershaw County Voter Registration and Elections and a long-standing volunteer for the Camden-Kershaw County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). She is also an active volunteer with other groups in the community.

The Mary Francis Harper Award is named after a former educator and long-standing active member of the MHAKC Board of Directors. The recipient of this award was Matia Willliams Goodwin, principal of Jackson School who has a masters degree in school administration.

She was a teacher in Orangeburg County School District where she taught students representing different cultures before coming to Kershaw County to teach in the school district’s SEGUL program for gifted and talented students. Other positions with the KCSD include curriculum coach and assistant principal. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the Kershaw County Red Cross, a cheerleading coach for the KC Recreation Department and an active member of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority.

Other participants at the dinner were Rev. William Gaither the board chair of MHAKC, who welcomed the audience and introduced members of the MHAKC board; Rev. Eddie Moore, pastor of Saint John Baptist Church (JGRR) who offered the invocation and benediction; Debbie Massalon executive director of MHAKC, who shared with the audience the activities and programs of MHAKC since the last dinner meeting; and Larry Graham, past board chair, who recognized veterans in the audience.

Music for the evening was provided by Julia Halford and Phyllis David. The MHAKC theme song, “The Bell,” written by Jennie Lee Carter, was sung by all attending. The candle lighting ceremony was performed by board members.
Elected officers for 2012 are William Gaither (Chair), Kathy Barnes (Secretary) and Ollie Thompson-Brisbane (Treasurer). Debbie Massalon will continue as executive director.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...