View Mobile Site

County election commission reevaluates decision

Posted: May 15, 2012 4:52 p.m.
Updated: May 16, 2012 5:00 a.m.

The Kershaw County Election Commission on Monday overturned its decision last week barring some candidates from the ballots.

Local election officials had unanimously agreed that a recent S.C. Supreme Court decision regarding candidate eligibility and paperwork requirements did not apply to the school board because it is a non-partisan election The commission had decided that only those candidates who filed their Statement of Intention of Candidacy and Statement of Economic Interest by the deadline of March 30 were eligible for the ballot..

During an appeals hearing Monday afternoon, local election officials decided all candidates who filed for office by March 30 and who completed their Statement of Economic Interest by April 28 would remain on the ballot for school board in districts 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9. Election Commission Chairman Judy Brock said the decision overturned the commission’s initial decision which limited the candidates for office to those who had filed their Statement of Economic Interest on or before March 30.

Based on the election commission’s decision Monday, school board candidates are the following:

District 1 -- Mara Horton Jones (incumbent); Jenny Koumas and Eric Zacour.

District 3 -- Joey Dorton (incumbent), unopposed.

District 5 -- Louis Clyburn Jr., G. Kenneth Gary and Phillip M. Thompson.

District 7 -- Matthew C. Irick (incumbent) and Douglas Berry.

District 9 -- Ron Blackmon and Celia Boland.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...