View Mobile Site

Kershaw County primary election results

Posted: June 14, 2012 5:15 p.m.
Updated: June 15, 2012 5:00 a.m.

S.C. Senate -- Republican primary (District 35 -- Lee, Kershaw, Richland, and Sumter Counties)

Tony Barwick (run-off June 26 with Kolb), 417 votes in Kershaw County, 1,820 overall, earned 49 percent of the vote

Eddie Drayton, 57 votes in Kershaw County, 200 overall, earned 5 percent of the vote

Wade Kolb (run-off June 26 with Barwick), 302 votes in Kershaw County, 1,688 overall, earned 46 percent of the vote.

A runoff takes place if no candidate in the primary reaches 51 percent of the vote. Since neither Barwick nor Kolb reached that threshold, the two candidates will take part in a runoff election June 26. The winner of the runoff will be determined by the candidate with the highest number of votes.

S.C. Senate – Democratic primary (District 35 – Lee, Kershaw, Richland, and Sumter Counties)

Thomas McElveen (winner), 161 votes in Kershaw County, 4,285 overall, 69 percent of the vote

Mac McLeod, 68 votes in Kershaw County, 1,941 overall, 31 percent of the vote

Kershaw County School Board of Trustees

District 1

Mara Horton Jones (winner, incumbent) 327

Jenny Koumas 167

Eric Zacour 89

District 5

Louis Clyburn (run-off with Gary in November), 270

G. Kenneth Gary (run-off with Clyburn in November), 215

Philip Thompson, 105

District 7

Douglas Berry, 161

Matt Irick (winner, incumbent), 432

District 9

Ron Blackmon (winner), 242

Celia Boland, 118


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...