View Mobile Site

Smith named State Transport Police 2012 Employee of the Year

Posted: May 21, 2013 5:20 p.m.
Updated: May 22, 2013 5:00 a.m.

LaShaune Smith, STP Employee of the Year, is pictured with her son DeLacera Smith, daughter Trinity Anderson, godmother Viola Engram-Blanding, and mother Mary E. Smith along with Captain John Price (left) and Colonel Leroy Taylor (in back, right).

The South Carolina State Transport Police (STP) held a ceremony on Friday, May 3 to recognize its top employees for 2012. LaShaune Smith, resident of Camden, was named State Transport Police 2012 Employee of the Year. Ms. Smith has been with STP for nine years. She serves as the CMV Statistician and Administrative Assistant to Captain J.D. Price.

The State Transport Police is a division of South Carolina Department of Public Safety and is responsible for the enforcement and administration of state and federal laws governing commercial motor vehicles.

The awards honor STP employees throughout the state for outstanding achievement. The awards are based on employees’ performance. One winner from each district was chosen as well as a civilian employee from STP’s headquarters in Blythewood.


Officer of the Year Winners:

District 1 (Aiken, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Richland, and Sumter counties): Officer Thomas S. Starling

District 2 (Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Newberry and Saluda counties): S/O Christopher Wagner

District 3 (Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, and Spartanburg counties): L/Cpl. Robert B. Cooper

District 4 (Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Fairfield, Lancaster, Union, and York counties): Officer Stephen P. Holmes

District 5 (Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro and Williamsburg counties): S/O Charles T. Norton

District 6 (Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Dorchester, and Orangeburg counties): S/O William T. (Billy) Bronson

District 7 (Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Hampton and Jasper counties): S/O Jody P. Neuroth

The South Carolina Department of Public Safety includes the Highway Patrol, Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs, State Transport Police, Bureau of Protective Services, Immigration Enforcement Unit, and the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame. Their mission is to ensure public safety by protecting and serving the people of South Carolina and its visitors.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...