View Mobile Site

MPCU Holiday Classic attracts 29 teams

Posted: December 14, 2010 4:48 p.m.
Updated: December 15, 2010 5:00 a.m.

THE LUGOFF-ELGIN WRESTLING team is getting into the holiday spirit and will host the 19th annual MPCU Holiday Classic Friday and Saturday. Helping to spread the word (from left) are wrestlers Alonzo Grant, David Osteen, Tony Murphy, Parker Singleton and head coach Evan Moxie.

Lugoff-Elgin will host the 19th annual May Plant Credit Union Holiday Classic wrestling tournament this Friday and Saturday inside the Demons Den at Lugoff-Elgin High School.

A total of 29 teams, including the host and 2010 AAA state champion Demons, are expected to take part in the the two-day event which kicks off at 6 p.m. Friday and begins again at 8:30 a.m. Saturday and will continue until early evening.
Admission is $5 per day.

Defending tournament champion Woodward (Ga.) Academy will not return to defend its title. L-E finished seventh in 2009.

The complete list of entered teams includes: Lugoff-Elgin, Camden, Hartsville, York, Chester, Bamberg-Ehrhardt, Hilton Head #1, Hilton Head #2, Greenville, Battery Creek,  Aynor,  Dutch Fork,  Edisto,  Clover, Military Magnet, Darlington, Indian Land, North Myrtle Beach, Marion, Bluffton,  J.L. Mann, Dorman, Miller Grove (Ga.), Dreher, Carolina Forest, West Ashley, Chapman, Effingham County (Ga.) and Fort Mill.

Demons win Bamberg-Ehrhardt event: Winning championships in nine of 14 weight classes, Lugoff-Elgin walked off with the title in Saturday’s Bamberg-Ehrhardt tournament.

Evan Moxie’s troops received first-place performances from Lake Stephens at 103 pounds, Chris Jackson (112), Tony Murphy (125), Alonzo Grant (135), David Osteen (140), Parker Singleton (145), Jacob Burr (152), Corey Edenfield (160) and Derrik Miller (171).

Cody Humphries finished second at 215 for the Demons while Chris Renfroe (119) and Allen Jenerette (heavyweight) both finished in third place to give Lugoff-Elgin top three finishes in 12 weight divisions.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...