View Mobile Site

KCSF calls for Price Award nominations

Posted: August 25, 2013 2:39 p.m.
Updated: August 26, 2013 5:00 a.m.

The Kershaw County Sheriff’s Foundation (KCSF) Board of Directors is accepting 2013 nominations for the Leonard Price Friend of Law Enforcement Award. The KCSF established the award in 2012 to recognize the support of Kershaw County residents for the Kershaw County Sheriff’s Office (KCSO). The award is named after the late Mr. Leonard L. Price, a former resident of the North Central area of Kershaw County who invested heavily in supporting law enforcement.

“Community support is vital to any law enforcement organization,” KCSF Board Chair Joe Dorton, a retired S.C. State Law Enforcement Division agent, said, “but here in Kershaw County recently, many in our community have really stepped up to show their support for the sheriff’s office.”

In 2012, the KCSF’s named Lugoff resident and Kershaw County businessman Joe Upchurch its inaugural recipient of the award.

“We are looking for public input for our 2013 honoree,” KCSF Board Vice Chair Kim DuRant, daughter of former Kershaw County Sheriff Jerry Horton, said. “We hope people will take the time to nominate those in our community who strongly support the men and women who serve and protect us.”

To nominate someone for the Leonard Price Friend of Law Enforcement Award, please send a one-page typed or written entry explaining:

• who the person is;

• why the nominee is worthy of winning the award;

• the nominator’s relationship to the nominee; and

• the nominee’s contact information.

Nominations must be received by Monday, Sept. 24 at 5 p.m. Mail them to Joe Dorton, Kershaw County Sheriff’s Foundation, P.O. Box 664, Camden, SC 29020 or email

The 2013 Leonard Price Friend of Law Enforcement Award winner will be announced at the KCSF’s meeting on October 9 at the KCSO. The KCSF is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization established to support the KCSO. Donations are tax deductible.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...