View Mobile Site

Camden native honored with Strom Thurmond Excellence in Law Enforcement Award

Posted: January 9, 2014 4:53 p.m.
Updated: January 10, 2014 5:00 a.m.

Camden native Andy Robinson was honored recently during a statewide gathering with a top award for law enforcement in South Carolina.

Robinson is currently the city of York’s police chief. He graduated from Camden High School and is the son of Charles Robinson and the late Mary Robinson of Camden. He is the grandson of the late Andrew Robinson (retired lieutenant with Kershaw County’s Sheriff Office) and the late Ruby Robinson.

Robinson received a 2013 Strom Thurmond Excellence in Law Enforcement Award Dec. 10 during a ceremony at the U.S. Army base at Fort Jackson.

Four awards were given, one each for law enforcement officers at the municipal, county, state and federal level. The award is the highest recognition for law enforcement officers in South Carolina.

Robinson said his commitment to community policing was a key component of his selection. During his three-year tenure as police chief, Robinson and his department have launched a series of community policing initiatives.

"I am honored and humbled to have been nominated for, and to receive this award," Robinson said in his acceptance speech.

"However, this award would not be possible without the wonderful men and women of the York police department who, I feel, share this award with me," Robinson said. "I accept it on their behalf."

Other honorees were Kershaw County Sheriff Jim Matthews, Internal Revenue Service Special Agent Alan Cornett and S.C. Department of Natural Resources Director Alvin Taylor.

Former U.S. Sen. Strom Thurmond created the annual awards in 1983. This year, on the 30th anniversary of the awards, Thurmond’s son, Strom Thurmond Jr., presented the awards with Bill Nettles, U.S. Attorney for South Carolina, and Terry Wooten, Chief Judge of the U.S. District for South Carolina.

The luncheon was hosted by Nettles’ Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee, the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers’ Association and the Strom Thurmond Foundation.

Those who serve on the awards committee and vote on the nominations are Thurmond Jr., SLED Chief Mark Keel, Newberry Sheriff Lee Foster, retired SLED Chief Robert Steward, Federal Bureau of Investigations Special Agent in Charge David Thomas, 1st Assistant U.S.. Attorney Beth Drake, U.S. Attorney Bill Nettles, Orangeburg Department of Safety Director Wendell Davis and Strom Thrumond Foundation Chairman Joesphy McCrorey.

Interested in viewing premium content?

A subscription is required before viewing this article and other premium content.

Already a registered member and have a subscription?

If you have already purchased a subscription, please log in to view the full article.

Are you registered, but do not have a subscription?

If you are a registed user and would like to purchase a subscription, log in to view a list of available subscriptions.

Interested in becoming a registered member and purchasing a subscription?

Join our community today by registering for a FREE account. Once you have registered for a FREE account, click SUBSCRIBE NOW to purchase access to premium content.

Membership Benefits

  • Instant access to creating Blogs, Photo Albums, and Event listings.
  • Email alerts with the latest news.
  • Access to commenting on articles.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2014 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...