View Mobile Site

Matthews to be sheriff for four more years

Runoff appears necessary for GOP KCC Chair nomination

Posted: June 10, 2014 10:24 p.m.
Updated: June 10, 2014 10:09 p.m.

(This story is now updated with results for school board seat Nos. 2 and 8.)

Sheriff Jim Matthews will continue to be Kershaw County's sheriff for the next four years after defeating challenger David Thomley in today's Republican primary. There are no Democratic contenders for the office, meaning voters reelected Matthews as sheriff with today's ballots.

With 36 of 39 precincts reporting just before 10 p.m., Matthews had 7,653 votes, compared to 3,047 for Thomley. Thomley conceded via his campaign's Facebook page earlier in the evening. Matthews said he was "overwhelmed," adding that the Kershaw County Sheriff's Office had "come a long way," but still had a "long way to go."

Meanwhile, it appears Julian Burns and Gene Hartis are set for a run-off for the Republican nomination for Kershaw County Council Chairman. Burns led the three-way race, that included Ben Connell, with 4,452, not enough for a clear-cut victory. Hartis had 3,000 votes, with Connell close behind in third with 2,783. The runoff will be held in two weeks, July 24. Whoever wins the runoff will face Democrat Bobby Gary.

Incumbent Republican Kershaw County Councilman Tom Gardner from District 6 will face Democrat Thomas Gordon after Gardner defeated challenger Howard Buckholz. Gardner earned 1,149 votes to Buckholz's 731.

Jill Catoe will be the next Kershaw County Treasurer. With no Democrats on the ballot this year, voters elected the Republican, who has served as deputy treasurer for several years, to the office with 5,738 votes compared to Heather Ives-Dykes' 4,371 votes.

Republican Debbie Branham won the Republican nomination for Kershaw County Probate Judge, defeating Ned Towell 7,386 to 2,832. She will go on to face Democrat David Reuwer in November.

Finally, the Kershaw County Board of School Trustees will have one new member and one former member come January. Challenger Mark Sury defeated incumbent Trustee Nissary Wood to take Seat No. 2, 573 votes to Wood's 428. Dr. Charles King, who stepped down from Seat No. 8 four years ago, retakes his seat from incumbent Dr. Donald Copley, 779 votes to 426.

The C-I will have complete election coverage, including precinct by precinct totals, results from statewide and federal races, and interviews with local winners in Friday's edition and on our website.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...