View Mobile Site

School News - March 4, 2015

Combs graduates from USC

Posted: March 3, 2015 5:16 p.m.
Updated: March 4, 2015 1:00 a.m.

Elizabeth Combs of Camden graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University of South Carolina during its fall commencement ceremonies Dec. 15.

Combs received a bachelor of arts degree in psychology, completing her studies in three and a half years. She was also inductedc into the National Collegiate Honor Society and Psi Chi Honors Society.

Combs also was vice president of Delta Alpha Pi Sorority.


Members of The Citadel South Carolina Corps of Cadets earned top honors in the fall 2014 semester. Dean’s List recognition is given to cadets registered for 12 or more semester hours and whose grade point average is 3.2 or higher with no grade below a C for the previous semester’s work.

The following local residents earned Dean’s List recognition for the fall 2014 semester: Charles Alexander, Ridgeway; Dylan Cruz, Ridgeway; Henry DeLoach, Camden; Frederick Galloway, Lugoff; Christopher Gibson, Lugoff; Paul Glasser, Elgin; Thomas Hoke, Lugoff; Ryan Moore, Elgin; and Jacob Wells, Heath Springs.


Local students have been named to the Clemson University Dean’s List for the fall 2014 semester. To be named to the Dean’s List, a student achieved a grade-point average between 3.50 and 3.99 on a 4.0 scale.

The students are:

Matthew Kenneth McCaskill, Bethune, Agribusiness; Anna Catherine Rollings, Bethune, Biochemistry; Benjamin Chad Smith, Bethune, Landscape Architecture; Teirra Keina Holloman, Bishopville, Industrial Engineering; Justin Julian Logan, Bishopville, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management; Creighton McCall Segars,  Bishopville, Marketing; Kayla E. Wallace, Bishopville, General Engineering; Tara Ann Brown, Camden, Biological Sciences; Sally A. Dunaway, Camden, English; Dillon Luke Morrow, Camden, Biological Sciences; Lesley Ann Outlaw, Camden, Nursing; Haley M. Ranson, Camden, Psychology; Bradley Elliott Sheorn, Camden, Forest Resource Management; Rebecca Lindsay Brown, Elgin, Packaging Science; Connor D. Burke, Elgin, Biological Sciences; Margaret Wells Chase, Elgin, Pre-Business; Samuel Lawrence Dozier II, Elgin, Mechanical Engineering; Meisha C. Draper, Elgin, General Engineering; Garrett E. Kroll, Elgin, Materials Science and Engineering; Nathan Achellis Larck, Elgin, Forest Resource Management; Mallory Grace Mullen, Elgin, History; Chandler R. Pobis, Elgin, Production Studies in Performing Arts; Paul E. Tafel, Elgin, Computer Science; Linda S. Thomas, Elgin, General Engineering; Megan P. Vandiver, Elgin, Health Science; Matthew John Wirth, Elgin, Electrical Engineering; Jessica L. Withycombe, Elgin, Animal and Veterinary Science; Daniel Lucas Stover, Heath Springs, Agricultural Education; Jonathan R. Lowe, Kershaw, Computer Science; Laura Beth Neal, Kershaw, Psychology; Timothy Michael Campbell, Lugoff, Computer Science; Erin Patrice Clemans, Lugoff, Biological Sciences; Justin Ward Earnhart, Lugoff, Geology; Justin Robert Gilstrap, Lugoff, Mechanical Engineering; Anne K. Herlong, Lugoff, Animal and Veterinary Science; Cameron A. Hinson, Lugoff, Animal and Veterinary Science; Ashley Caroline Martin,  Lugoff, Civil Engineering; Taylor Marie Phipps, Lugoff, Graphic Communications; Sean Alexander Stewart, Lugoff, Chemical Engineering; Corey Briette Blanks, Rembert, Genetics; Brooke D. Davis, Ridgeway, Animal and Veterinary Science; Alexandra Paige Maass, Ridgeway, Mechanical Engineering; and Andrew James Maass,  Ridgeway, Mechanical Engineering.


Clemson University has announced the President’s List for the fall 2014 semester. To be named to the President’s List, a student must achieve a 4.0 (all As) grade-point average.

Local students who achieved the honor include Grant Garner, Bishopville, Biological Sciences; Genevieve Nicole Hammett, Bishopville, Health Science; Megan K. Schwendinger, Bishopville, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management; Stuart D. Pennebaker, Camden, English; Mary Catherine Calk, Camden, Industrial Engineering; Anna McGinn Ford, Camden, Industrial Engineering; Joseph Boykin Tiller, Camden, Mechanical Engineering; Brandi Quinn Patterson, Elgin, Elementary Education; Shannon E. Hall, Elgin, Bioengineering; Claire Hemphill Lawson, Elgin, Nursing; Alexandria Hope Motley, Elgin, Nursing; Brittany Ann Caldwell, Kershaw, Psychology; Hailey Danielle Hunter, Kershaw,, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management; Stephanie Lee D’Aloisio, Lugoff, Animal and Veterinary Science; Kathryn A. Lankford, Lugoff, Animal and Veterinary Science; Thomas G. Branham,  Lugoff, Microbiology; and Ethan Douglas Kirkland, Lugoff, General Engineering.


The University of Maine recently named Faythe Goins, of Elgin, to its Fall 2014 Dean’s List. Dean’s List honors go to students who completed 12 or more credit hours during the semester and earned a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.


The following students at USC Upstate have been named to the Fall 2014 Dean’s List:

Emily Branham of Elgin, Adrienne Davis of Bishopville, Macy Gaither-Boulware of Heath Springs, Lashawndria Mack of Elgin, Chhasity Martin of Lugoff, Avery Scott of Elgin, Jasmine Shull of Elgin, and Brandy Trapp of Ridgeway.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, freshmen students must earn a 3.25 or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours and upperclassmen must earn a 3.5 or higher and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours.


The following students have been named ot the Fall 2014 Chancellor’s List at USC Upstate:

Danielle James of Elgin, and Brittany Kelly of Lugoff.

To be eligible for the Chancellor’s List, students must earn a 4.0 and be enrolled in at least 12 course hours.


Roderick Murchison Todd, son of Roderick and Lisa Todd of Camden, participated with 70 other students in The Sophomore Experience at Wofford College. The event was held in January in Charlotte, N.C.

The Sophomore Experience is a fast-paced, conference-style event to provide students with the information they need to develop a plan for their remaining two years at Wofford College. The emphasis is on understanding their strengths and choosing an appropriate major for their interests and passions, as well as on learning how to secure internships and other real-world experience that will prepare them for their professional lives.


Presbyterian College recently named Nancy Magdy Fanous, Madison Paige Wilson, Kaitlyn Brooke Riley and Sara Elizabeth Messier to its Provost’s List for the Fall 2014 semester.

Students must earn a 3.3 grade point average to be named to the Provost’s List.

The college also named Kassandra Lee Ann Glover of Kershaw County to Fall 2014 President’s List.

Students must earn a 4.0 average to be named to the President’s List.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...