View Mobile Site

Camden native honored with education award

Posted: February 4, 2011 4:30 p.m.
Updated: February 7, 2011 5:00 a.m.

Josh Austin

Josh Austin was one of eight senior Presbyterian College education majors to receive the Recognition of Excellence on a recent national education licensure test. The honor recognizes students whose scores rank in the top 15 percent nationally of students who have ever taken the test.

Austin, an early childhood education major, is a member of the Blue Hose football team and Campus Outreach and also serves as a Stirling tour guide.

PC’s education department offers majors in early childhood, elementary, middle level, and secondary education. The curriculum focuses on experiential learning, and advising continues throughout the program. Students who have completed the program have a 100 percent pass rate on licensure exams.


Two Kershaw County cadets were among cadets and active duty military students at The Citadel who were honored for academic excellence during the fall semester of the 2010-2011 academic year.

Dean's List recognition is given to those students registered for 12 or more semester hours whose grade point ratio is 3.2 or higher with no grade below a C for the previous semester's work. In addition, some students received a Gold Star for achieving a 3.7 grade point average or higher.

Joshua Bonner Funderburk of Lugoff, a civil engineering major, was included on the Dean’s List.

Matthew Barry Moser of Camden, a criminal justice major, was named to the Dean’s List and earned Gold Star status.


Officials at Francis Marion University have named 371 full-time students to the President’s List, and 615 full-time students to the Dean’s List for the 2010 fall semester.

Students named to the President’s List must have earned a 3.75 or higher GPA for the semester. Full-time students named to the President’s List must have taken at least 12 semester hours and part-time students named to that list must have completed at least 12 hours, have declared a major and completed at least six hours during the semester.

Dean’s List students earned a GPA for the semester between 3.25 and 3.749. Full-time students named to the Dean’s List must have taken at least 12 hours and part-time students named to that list must have completed at least 12 hours, have declared a major and completed at least six hours during the semester.

Grade point averages (GPA) are based on a 4.0 system.

Local students on the President’s List include: Nancy Boska of Camden, Biology (4.0 GPA); Kellie L. Gainey of Lugoff, Biology/Pre-Nursing; Amal J. Hall of Camden, Psychology; Matthew T. Kirkland of Lugoff, Computer Science (4.0 GPA); William A. McCaskill of Lugoff, Elementary Education (4.0 GPA); Zachary R. Nickerson of Camden, Sociology/General Track (4.0 GPA); Jonathan C. Wiggins of Lugoff, Accounting (4.0 GPA); Eric J. Wooten of Lugoff, Nursing/Second Degree (4.0 GPA); and Buddy A. Wyckof of Lugoff, Biology/Pre-Nursing.

Area students on the Dean’s List include: Jennifer L. Brasington of Lugoff, Biology/Pre-Nursing; Andrew J. Cemprola of Lugoff, Computer Science; Delia J. Davis of Camden, Biology/Pre-Nursing; Tangela Y. Holloman of Camden, Biology; Christopher M. Honeycutt of Lugoff, Finance; Caroline O. Jowers of Camden, Elementary Education; William R. McLaughlin of Bethune, Music Industry; Tierra L. Richardson of Lugoff, Sociology/General Track; Stelishia A. Truesdale of Cassatt, Political Science; and Johnathan C. Williams of Lugoff, Marketing.


A Lugoff-Elgin graduate, Jessie Richards, has gained recognition from the University of South Carolina (USC). Richards, a graduate student at USC, has been awarded the Francis Daniel Gibson Fellowship from the University’s College of Education.

Established in 1997 by Bill and Frances Ellett to honor Frances Daniel who devoted her life to helping others through education, this fellowship is awarded to a graduate student enrolled in the Department of Educational Studies who is planning to teach emotionally handicapped children at the elementary level.

A 2009 graduate of USC, Richards is currently enrolled in the Master of Arts program in Special Education, where she is specializing in severe and multiple disorders. She is currently employed as a public relations and development graduate assistant in the university’s College of Education.

Richards was awarded a scholarship for her achievement, and will be recognized at an Awards Ceremony given by the College of Education in April. She intends to obtain a masters degree and board certification in behavior analysis in 2011.


The President’s Honor Roll and Dean’s List for the fall 2010 semester at the University of South Carolina Lancaster includes a number of Kershaw County-area students.

The President’s Honor Roll automatically qualifies a student for the Dean’s List.

Local students named to the President’s Honor Roll include Brittany Lynn Estridge, Sharon Denise Nobles and Sarah Elizabeth Robinson.

Area Dean’s List honorees include Andrew Tate Ansley, Dee Dee Ellen Barr, Adrian John-Paul Watkins, Carrie Elizabeth Braswell, Jasmine Shuntay Clyburn, Tamara Camille Ebersole, Amanda Elizabeth Etters, Kayla Ashley Faile, Megan Dawn Faile, Sydney Alyssa Hinson, Christian Darren Hunter, Debra Champion Phillips, Megan Christine Phillips, Scott Campbell Vassar and Ebony Michele Hunter.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...