View Mobile Site

Kershaw County Democrats pick Clinton amid low turnout

Posted: February 29, 2016 6:58 p.m.
Updated: March 1, 2016 1:00 a.m.

Unofficial results from Saturday’s Democratic Presidential Preference Primary, show Kershaw County Democrats overwhelmingly chose former New York U.S. Sen. Hillary Clinton over Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders. Of the 4,889 Democratic votes cast Saturday, Clinton received 3,743 (77.13 percent); Sanders received 1,086 (22.38 percent); with former Dr. Willie Wilson and former Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley trailing far behind with 13 and 11 votes, respectively, to earn .27 and .23 percent of the vote each.

With 41,969 registered voters of either party in Kershaw County, the 4,889 Democratic votes counted for a 11.65 percent turnout. That is less than half of the turnout among Republicans for their party’s primary a week before.

By comparison, Kershaw County Voter Registration Director John Caughman said turnout for the 2008 Democratic primary was 25.8 percent out of 31,680 total voters.

Caughman said, on the whole, Saturday’s voting went smoothly.

“We had the usual issues with voter addresses and registration,” he said. “I would encourage voters to check their registration information and status for the (local and state) June primaries now.”

Caughman said voters can call the office at (803) 424-4016, email him at or visit

“We did have one issue with a voting machine from the Buffalo precinct that was remedied here in the office, and we retrieved all the vote totals from it. So, not perfect, but it went rather well,” Caughman said.

According to numbers Caughman released, the heaviest turnout was reported at Elgin No. 1 with 1,912 votes cast, trailed very close behind by Elgin No. 4 with 1,911 votes.

The next major political activity in Kershaw County will be March 29 when Kershaw County Council District 1 voters will choose between former council member Bobby Gary, a Democrat, and Republican Al Bozard.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...