View Mobile Site

Yesteryear for April 12, 2016

32 YEARS AGO -- April 11-18, 1984

Posted: April 11, 2016 6:49 p.m.
Updated: April 12, 2016 1:00 a.m.

Camden Elementary School fourth grade teacher Nancy Wylie was named 1984 Kershaw County Teacher of the Year Monday night at the annual banquet attended by Gov. Richard Riley.

The 19-year teaching veteran received a $350 check from contributors to the Pilot-Club sponsored event and will go on to compete in the South Carolina Teacher of the Year competition later in the year.

Carolyn Ham, a teacher at Kershaw County Vocational Center, was named first runner up and received a $100 check. Camden High School teacher Joan Inabinet was named second runner up and received a $50 check.

Mrs. Wylie credited her husband and fellow faculty members for helping her achieve the honor. Married to Camden Middle School band director Pat Wylie, Mrs. Wylie said, “We do a lot of teamwork. We try to help and support each other.” The Wylies have two teenage children, Chris and Beth.


No one ever had to remind Jackie Davis and David Earnhardt to cross their “T’s” and dot their “I’s” while in school. When it comes to studying, the two Lugoff-Elgin High School seniors have also done a pretty good job of minding their P’s and Qs and it has finally paid off. 

Each was recently named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. And at least for Jackie, the highly distinguished honor has resulted in a corporate sponsored four year Merit Scholarship from the Colgate-Palmolive Company.


A Civil War painting by historical artist Robert Wilson of Richard Kirkland, a Camden area native, giving water to the Union wounded during the Battle of Frederickburg will be donated to the state in ceremonies scheduled for 10:20 a.m. Tuesday. The painting will be placed on permanent display in the statehouse, along with the Confederate Medal of Honor awarded in Kirkland’s memory by the Sons of Confederate Veterans in 1988.


Six winners were named in the Wee, Little, Young and Teen Miss Bethune Pageant on March 31 at the Recreation Center of Bethune. The winners will compete in the state pageant to be held at a later date. Amanda Hope Elliott of Cassatt was named Wee Miss Bethune. She is the daughter of Ronald and Brenda Elliott. 

Chris Baker was the winner of the Wee Master title. His parents are Jerry and Wanda Baker of Bethune.

Wendy Marie Farmer was crowned Little Miss Bethune. Her parents are Mr. and Mrs. Ernest B. Farmer Jr.

Michael Alexander Byrd was named Little Master Bethune. His parents are Phyllis Benton and Mike Byrd.

Renee Gardner was crowned Teen Miss Bethune by Ginger McCoy, the 1983 winner.

Amanda Elliott was also the winner of the photogenic competition, and Melissa Piner was the signature winner. Miss Susan Amos was the Mistress of Ceremonies of the pageant.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...