View Mobile Site

Area students earn Dean's List honors

Posted: March 9, 2017 4:15 p.m.
Updated: March 10, 2017 1:00 a.m.

A number of local students were recently named to the Clemson University Dean’s List for the fall 2016 semester.

From Elgin: Eric Charles Bell, architecture; Margaret Wells Chase, communication; Alexa M. Cox, biochemistry; Meisha C. Draper, electrical engineering; Katherine Moira Hoskins, sociology; Keenan K. Hunt, communication; Margaret Mary Laporte, health science; Mallory Grace Mullen, secondary education; Devin Thomas Reeder, architecture; Kelsey Renee Stuhn, environmental engineering; Linda S. Thomas, bioengineering; Zachary Stuart Vandenberg, English; Megan P. Vandiver, nursing; Rose Marie Werden, general engineering; and Blakeley E. Yandle, parks, recreation and tourism management.

From Lugoff: Lydia D. Carpenter, food science and human nutrition; Sophie Louise Greenwood, microbiology; Anne K. Herlong, animal and veterinary science; and Lindsey N. Marshall, early childhood education.

To be named to the Dean's List, a student must achieve a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99 on a 4.0 scale.


Clemson University recently named a number of local students to the President's List for the fall 2016 semester.

From Elgin: Connor D. Burke, genetics; Samuel Lawrence Dozier II, mechanical engineering; Ashley L. Fox, special education; Shannon E. Hall, bioengineering; Jennifer E. Horton, English; Grace Elizabeth Jordan, nursing; and Hannah Mccall of Elgin, mathematical sciences.

From Lugoff: Timothy G. Branham, biological sciences; Lauren Alexandra Humphrey, secondary education; Kathryn A. Lankford, animal and veterinary science; and Ashley Caroline Martin, civil engineering.

To be named to the President's List, a student must achieve a 4.0 (all As) grade-point average.


East Tennessee State University (ETSU) recently selected Jasmine Sexton, daughter of Crystal and Preston Sexton, of Lugoff, as a recipient of a George L. Cater Scholarship for out-of-state students for the 2017-2018 school year.

Carter scholarships are awarded to new transfer students and freshmen who live out-of-state, but within a 250-mile radius of the university. The highly competitive awards of $15,000 per year are renewable for four years.

Jasmine plans to study biochemistry.


Three local students from Camden, Nancy Fanous, Ann Willetts, and Morgan Wilson earned a 3.30 GPA and the honor of the Dean’s List at Presbyterian College for the fall semester of the 2016-2017 academic year.


Tucker Jerome Ervin, of Elgin, was recently named to the University of Alabama’s (UA) President’s List.

A total of 11,758 students enrolled during the 2016 fall semester at UA were named to the Dean’s List with an academic record of 3.5 (or above) or the President’s List with an academic record of 4.0 (all As). The UA Dean’s and President’s lists recognize full-time undergraduate students.

The lists do not apply to graduate students or undergraduate students who take less than a full course load.


Matthew Curley of Bethune, South Carolina, was named to the University of Dallas Honor Roll for the fall 2016 semester for earning a semester GPA of 3.0-3.49. Curley is majoring in Philosophy and Letters.


Ryan E. Kelly of Camden was named to the University of Tennessee Dean’s List for the fall 2016 semester, for earning a semester GPA of 3.8 -4.00. Ryan earned a 4.00 GPA in aerospace engineering.


Brandon Tyler Hill of Lugoff was named to the Dean’s List for Spartanburg Methodist College for the fall 2016 academic semester. Dean’s List students must earn at least a 3.5 grade point average.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2017 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...