View Mobile Site

Bean chosen for S.C. Education Policy Fellowship

Posted: September 21, 2017 4:58 p.m.
Updated: September 22, 2017 1:00 a.m.

Rebecca "Becky" Bean

Rebecca “Becky” Bean, of Camden, who serves as the communications manager for the S.C. School Boards Association, is one of 17 professional and civic leaders chosen to participate in the S.C. Education Policy Fellowship Program for 2017-18.

The fellowship is a 10-month intensive professional development program for established and emerging leaders in education and related fields to help equipment them in working toward sound education policy and practice in South Carolina. Fellows participate in a variety of activities that promote leadership, development professional networks, demystify education policy and foster a greater understanding of the roles of government and the community.

“This year’s class is composed of some of the most talented and dedicated leaders in our state,” Robert E. Barnett, chief operating officer for the SC Chamber of Commerce and chair of the fellowship program’s the advisory board. “Through the program they will develop added insights, acquire new professional skills, make valuable connections, and work collaboratively to take proactive steps for South Carolina’s future through meaningful education improvement and reform.” 

Fellows will meet monthly throughout the academic year for full-day dialogues, exercises and group projects, in addition to an overnight in-state Fall Leadership Forum and a four-day Washington Policy Seminar hosted by the Institute for Educational Leadership in the spring. 

The other 16 members of Bean’s class are:

• Kimberly Ashby, director of Elementary Schools, Spartanburg District 2 

• Karen Buffalo, assistant principal, Alice Drive Elementary, Sumter County Schools 

• Terrie Campbell, district accountability/testing coordinator, McCormick County School District 

• Kimberly Carraway, pre-K through 3 teacher, D.P. Cooper Charter School, Salters 

• Toni Chewning, director of association activities, Palmetto State Teachers Association 

• Melanie Cohen, principal, River Springs Elementary, Lexington-Richland School District 5

• Erin Fox, 2018 S.C. Teacher of the Year, Gaffney High, Cherokee County School District 

• Anita Hunter, principal, Mayewood Middle, Sumter County Schools 

• Cheryl Lawson-Wilson, assistant principal, W.J. Keenan High, Richland School District 1 

• Jeffery Long, director of certified employment services, Richland School District 1 

• Tara Mack, principal, St. Helena Elementary, Beaufort County School District 

• Mandy Powers Norrell, S.C. House of Representatives, District 44, Lancaster 

• Linda Norton, principal, Watkins-Nance Elementary, Richland School District 1 

• Ashley Roberts, literacy coach, Oakland Elementary, Spartanburg District 2 

• Erica Taylor, chief strategy and communications officer, Charleston County School District 

• Cedric Wright, assistant principal, C.A. Johnson High, Richland School District 1 

The fellowship program operates under the auspices of the national Education Policy Fellowship Program of the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, D.C., which oversees fellowship programs in 17 states and the District of Columbia. In South Carolina, the program is coordinated by the S.C. School Improvement Council, located in the Center for Educational Partnerships of the University of South Carolina College of Education.

Since its inception in South Carolina, the program has produced more than 150 program graduates from a variety of professional backgrounds. 

The fellowship program is supported by an advisory board providing cross-disciplinary leadership representing the state’s K-12 education, higher education, and business communities. 

For additional information on the SC Education Policy Fellowship Program, visit its Web page at


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...