View Mobile Site

FAC announces board members, award winners

Posted: October 12, 2017 3:57 p.m.
Updated: October 13, 2017 1:00 a.m.

The Fine Arts Center (FAC) of Kershaw County recently held its annual meeting in the Watts Performing Arts Wing. Donors, sponsors, volunteers and friends gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of 2016-2017 and honor special award recipients, including former executive director Kristin Cobb.

Guests enjoyed a catered cocktail hour with food provided by Catery on Broad as well as special entertainment provided by pianist Jimmy Moran, a former Kershaw County Music Association scholarship winner. 

The year’s Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Margaret Buckelew, who has been a backstage staple of the FAC for many years. She has given her time and energy since childhood with both the Camden Community Theatre and the FAC. She is well known in the community for her involvement with wildlife rescue through her family’s nonprofit organization, Pine Tree Hill Wildlife Rescue, as well as with Historic Camden. 

The Harriet Phelps Service Award was given to Cab and Kathy Stitt. The Harriet Phelps Service Award recognizes someone who, like Harriet Phelps, gives diligently of labor and energy to the FAC. The Stitts have actively supported the FAC for many years and continue to encourage others to support the arts in their community.

 The Ben Bostick Award for Vision was given to Dr. and Mrs. Earl Bryant. The Bryants are longtime supporters of the FAC. The Ben Bostick Vision Award recognizes someone who, like Ben Bostick, has the vision to look into the future. The Bryant’s continue to be champions of the arts through the unwavering support of the FAC.

Former executive director Kristin Cobb was honored with proclamations from the city of Camden, presented by Camden Mayor Alfred Mae Drakeford, and Kershaw County Council, presented by Councilman Dennis Arledge. She received a resolution by the S.C. General Assembly presented by State Rep. Laurie Slade Funderburk and State Sen. Vincent Sheheen for her longtime service to the community and the arts in South Carolina. The board of directors presented the first Sylvia “Sibby” Upton Wood Legacy Award to Cobb at the conclusion of the meeting.

A brief business meeting was held and the election of new members took place. The 2017-18 FAC Executive Committee of the Board will consist of: Boyd Black, president; Linda Shaylor, ex-officio past president; Sibby Wood (1933-2015) emeritus board member; Beth Ford, vice president; Carolyn Ham, secretary; Claude Eichelberger, treasurer; Judy Smith and Joe deLoach, members-at-large; and Rose Sheheen, interim executive director. Board members include Louise Burns, Barbara Davis, Michael DeBenedetti, Mary Ellen Green, Dionne Hough, Mary Ellen Jordan, VV Kornegay, Joy Claussen Scully, Dennis Stuber, Diana Wenman and Sheila Williams. Retiring board members are Ben Connell, Dr. Bobby Joseph and Sandy Shull.

For more information about the FAC, 810 Lyttleton St.,  call (803) 425-7676, extension 300, or visit the FAC website at Box office hours are Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...