View Mobile Site

KershawHealth earns national hospital safety award

Posted: November 20, 2017 5:11 p.m.
Updated: November 21, 2017 1:00 a.m.

The Leapfrog Group, a national nonprofit health care ratings organization, recently released new Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades. The Safety Grade assigns letter grades of A, B, C, D and F to hospitals nationwide based on their performance in preventing medical errors, infections and other harms. KershawHealth was one of 832 awarded an “A” for its commitment to keeping patients safe and meeting the highest safety standards in the U.S. 

“Our health care staff at KershawHealth truly represents their commitment in serving their patients. I salute our entire team for working so hard to achieve this recognition,” KershawHealth CEO Terry Gunn said. 

“It takes consistent, unwavering dedication to patients to achieve the highest standards of patient safety. An ‘A’ Safety Grade recognizes hospitals for this accomplishment,” Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group said. “We congratulate the clinicians, Board, management and staff of KershawHealth for showing the country what it means to put patient safety first.”   

Developed under the guidance of a Blue Ribbon National Expert Panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign A, B, C, D and F grades to more than 2,600 U.S. hospitals twice per year. It is calculated by top patient safety experts, peer reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. 

 To see KershawHealth’s full grade, and to access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit 

The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization advocating for progress in quality and safety of American health care.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...