View Mobile Site

Editorial: Above and beyond

Posted: January 22, 2018 3:59 p.m.
Updated: January 23, 2018 1:00 a.m.

We would like to offer our congratulations and thanks to the latest group of Kershaw County School District teachers -- 16 in all -- who recently attained/renewed their National Board Certification status. 

Lugoff-Elgin High School’s Melissa Rabon received her initial National Board Certification. Elizabeth Jones and Kim Simon of Baron  DeKalb Elementary School; Cynthia Kendall of Blaney Elementary School; Holly Kirkland, Betsy Long and Helen Walker of Doby’s Mill Elementary School; Aimee Nesbitt of Jackson Elementary School; Raymond Jennings, Katianne Rickwood and Dave Stanek of Lugoff-Elgin High School; Robin Sowell of Mt. Pisgah Elementary School; Linda Horton and Julie Smith of Pine Tree Hill Elementary School; Sarah Spoto of Stover Middle School; and Lindsay Miles of Wateree Elementary School recertified their credentials.

National Board Certification is the highest credential available in the teaching profession, so obviously it is very challenging to earn, requiring a major commitment of time and effort. Some 119 KCSD employees have earned National Board Certification. Fifteen percent of KCSD’s teachers are nationally certified.

We salute our teachers -- especially those who have undertaken this commitment -- and thank you for your dedication to your profession and most important, your dedication to our children.

Well done, indeed.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...