View Mobile Site

Colleges, universities honor area students

Posted: May 17, 2018 4:24 p.m.
Updated: May 18, 2018 1:00 a.m.

Erin Elliott, a hospitality, resort, and tourism management major from Elgin, was among the more than 45 Coastal Carolina University students who were recently inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the international business honor society.

The Citadel recently honored William Mathis of Cassatt, who received the Reserve Officers Association of the United States Award. The Reserve Officers Association Award is presented to cadets who have demonstrated outstanding competence in the arts and sciences of national defense.

Cadets joining the Army upon graduation at The Citadel, officially sworn in as officers, included Cody Simmons, of Elgin, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in criminal justice.

William Cole of Elgin, received a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from The Citadel. He was also recognized as an honoree of the South Carolina Student Organization Achievement Award for volunteer work as part of Tango Company. Tango Company is on track to break the school record for documented service hours in one academic year.

Jason Hall of Elgin was initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at The Citadel.


Kayce Robinson of Elgin was named to the Brevard College Dean’s List for the spring semester of the 2017-2018 academic year. To qualify for the Dean’s list, students must be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students who qualify for the Honor Roll must be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours and have a GPA of 3.0 to 3.49.


Granger Keith Rabon of Camden has been named to the Spartanburg Methodist College (SMC) Dean’s List for grades earned during the spring 2018 academic semester. Dean’s List students have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Rabon was also recently inducted into Sigma Kappa Delta, the national English honor society for students at two-year colleges.

Jacob Anthony Power of Lugoff graduated with a Associate in Arts degree from SMC.


Amber Ann Parnell, of Elgin, a member of the class of 2018, was accorded Wofford College’s highest academic honor May 8, when she was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa. She is majoring in psychology.


Charlton Goodwin of Elgin was initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at Mercer University.


Amelia Kimber of Elginwas recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi at The University of Alabama.


Furman University initiated Noah Zimmermann, of Elgin, and Logan Richardson of Camden into Phi Beta Kappa.


LaQuasha Jefferson of Cassatt has been honored by the City of Newberry for outstanding leadership on campus and in the community. Throughout her years at Newberry College, she has been a part of the Student Government Association, was elected Homecoming Queen 2017, served as a telecounselor for the Admissions Department, and held a Resident Advisor postion.

She has also served on the Relay for Life committee, worked as an intern at City of Newberry Parks, Recreation and Tourism, volunteered as a coach at the City of Newberry Parks and Recreation, served on the Leisure Services hiring committee, and was a part of the advisory board. She has also spoken at the SCC Exchange, served on an interview panel for student affairs, and was a member of the women’s basketball team.

She also received the L. Grady Cooper Award at the 2018 Newberry College Commencement. 
Hannah Collier of Lugoff was inducted in the Nu Iota Chapter of Alpha Mu Gamma National Collegiate Foreign Language Honor Society at University of South Carolina-Upstate.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...