View Mobile Site

Area college students graduate, earn academic honors

Posted: June 14, 2018 4:57 p.m.
Updated: June 15, 2018 1:00 a.m.

Wofford College conferred 418 degrees on 394 graduates during the 2018 Commencement exercies on Sunday, May 20. Area students included:

Lauren Marie Deyling received a bachelor of science degree in biology with a minor in business, cum laude. Deyling is from Elgin, SC (29045).

Amber Ann Parnell received a bachelor of science degree in psychology, concentration in neuroscience, cum laude. Parnell is from Elgin, SC (29045).

William Benjamin Stutts received bachelor of art degrees in economics and history, minor in accounting, cum laude. Stutts is from Elgin, SC (29045).

Wofford College, established in 1854, is a four-year, residential liberal arts college located in Spartanburg, S.C. It offers 26 major fields of study to a student body of 1,690 undergraduates.


Madelin Bender, of Elgin, recently graduated from William & Mary with a BBA degree.

Founded by royal charter in 1693, William & Mary is the second oldest educational institution in the nation.


Ethan Beck of Elgin, SC, was named to the Dean’s Honor List at Cedarville University. Beck maintained a 3.75 GPA in the 2018 spring semester, while taking at least 12 credit hours from Cedarville University.

Cedarville University, located between Dayton and Columbus, Ohio is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 3,963 undergraduate, graduate, and online students in more than 150 areas of study.****

The following area students have been named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2018 semester at Newberry College:

Anne-Marie Branham of Cassatt; Nicholas Butler of Camden; Julia Fowler of Lugoff; Margarette Herrera of Elgin; Tyrone Kelly of Camden; Courtlin Wilson of Cassatt.

The Dean’s List is an academic honor awarded to students who achieved a semester GPA of 3.50 or higher on a 4.0 scale.****

The following students were named to the Presbyterian College Dean’s List during the Spring 2018 semester:

Kassandra Lee Ann Glover of Camden; Kaitlyn Brooke Riley; of Camden; Morgan Hannah Wilson, of Camden.

The Dean’s List at Presbyterian College is composed of students who have earned between a 3.3 and a 3.9 grade point average.


Local residents graduated from Clemson University in spring 2018 commencement ceremonies.

From Camden: Cortis A. Calk II, Mary Margaret Primrose Green, Megan S. Hooks, Francesca Laschanzky, Margeaux Laschanzky, Savannah M. Poe, Joseph Robert Sheheen, Haley Danielle Willis.

From Cassatt: Gabriella Danielle Brown, Madison L. German.

From Elgin: Eric Charles Bell, Connor D. Burke, Margaret Wells Chase, Alexa M. Cox, Marcus Shawn Davis II,
Meisha C. Draper, Emily Lynne Dreyer, Anna Lisbeth Hogue, Linda S. Thomas of Elgin, Jessica L. Withycombe.

From Lugoff: Thomas G. Branham, Timothy Michael Campbell, Joshua Martin Dunn, Lindsey Marshall Gilstrap, Kathryn A. Lankford, Katharine Dawn Morse.

From Rembert: Bennett C. Harrelson


Hunter Joseph Horton was recently named to the Coker College President’s list. Horton is the son of Todd and Pamela Horton of Lugoff.


Cadet Bradley Collin Gibson, son of retired Master Sgt. Mickey and Georgia Gibson of Elgin, graduated from the U.S. Military Academy on Saturday, May 26.

While at West Point, he concentrated his studies in Systems Management and Design. He was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army within the Field Artillery branch and will report to Fort Bliss, Texas for his first assignment.


The following area students graduated from Furman University during ceremonies held on May 5:

Noah Zimmerman of Camden; Hannah M. Barton and Logan H. Richardson of Elgin.

Zimmerman was also awarded the Bradshaw-Feaster Medal for General Excellence.


The following area students were named to the Coastal Carolina President’s List:

Erin Elliot and Paris White of Elgin and Chloe Horton, of Camden.

Students named to the President’s List acheived a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the semester.

The following area students were named to the Coastal Carolina Dean’s List for the spring semester:

Joshua Bautista of Elgin; Arlycia Frazier of Elgin; Sydney Bowers of Lugoff; Mary Deese, of Camden.

Students who make the Dean’s List have achieved a 3.5 GPA or higher during the semester.

CCU has a student population of 10,600.


Robert Dougherty-Bliss of Lugoff was named to Oglethorpe University’s Spring 2018 Dean’s List. In order to be named to the Dean’s List, a student must achieve a 3.50 term grade-point average, while earning 12 or more semester hours.

Founded in 1835, Oglethorpe University is Atlanta’s only co-educational small private college, home to 1250 eclectic and engaged students from 33 states and 38 countries.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...