View Mobile Site

Yesteryear -- April 19-23, 1971

Posted: April 19, 2011 1:40 p.m.
Updated: April 20, 2011 5:00 a.m.

  40 YEARS AGO -- April 19-23, 1971


Photo cutline -- To aid students, Ray Holt and Miss Charlene Estridge will try to secure summer jobs for students desiring employment in the area.

Photo cutline -- Third Place – “The Electric Train,” a Camden rock and roll band, placed third in the state on April 10 at the annual Battle of The Bands Contest in Greenville, S.C. The ‘Train’ received a handsome trophy and $150 cash. Band members are Joe Carter, bass guitar; Danny Steward, lead guitar; and Rusty Davis, rhythm guitar. Kneeling is Mike Hayes, the drummer, who also won the trophy and $25 for the most outstanding performer.

Photo cutline -- Signs Proclamation -- Mayor Austin Sheheen signs a proclamation sent by Gov. John West, as Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice President Ross E. Beard Jr. looks on, endorsing May 1-8 as united “Week of Concern” for Kershaw Countians.

Photo cutline -- Winning Team -- The Rowlettes are the champions of the Tuesday Ladies League. Team members are Barbara Freeland, Janet Smith, Murine Ogburn, Doris Payne, and Betty Pate.  Theresa Ennis was absent when picture was made.

Photo cutline -- YMCA Committee -- Members of the Kershaw County YMCA Membership Committee look over a scrapbook containing information on the many and varied programs offered by the YMCA. Pictured are Jack Kirby, executive director; Mrs. B. H. Wright, publicity chairman, and Richard Wilhite, committee chairman. Anyone missed in the current solicitation for membership should contact the Y.

Photo cutline -- Gallon No. 9 -- George Sheheen of Camden prepares to give a pint of blood at yesterday’s bloodmobile, and the pint will bring to nine gallons the amount of blood he has donated since 1951. Mr. Sheheen’s total blood donations would probably run over ten gallons if he counted the emergencies to which he has responded.

Photo cutline -- Derby Winners -- Cub Scout Pack 311 of Lugoff held its annual Pinewood Derby and picnic at the DuPont Recreation Area on Friday evening. Winners of the “Lugoff 500” were Kenny Robertson, first place; Sandy McDonald, second place; and Tom Epps, third place. Cubmaster Roger Brock is at right.

Upsilon Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma, honorary teaching society, initiated into membership Elizabeth Gosnell, librarian at Pine Tree Hill Elementary School, and deSaussure McCutchen, French teacher at Camden High School on April 14th, 1971 at the Elizabeth Thomas Restaurant. The president Frances Sill conducted the induction ceremony.

Photo cutline -- Trophy Winners -- Bethune High School Athletes awarded trophies during the Wildcat Booster Club Athletic Banquet are Terry Price, Rebecca Ann Davis, and Don Jordan. In the second row are Earl Sullivan, Gus Brinson, Larry Davis, Danny Joyner, and Dave Hagins. Also in the front row is Tommy Suggs, guest speaker and University of South Carolina Quarterback.

Photo cutline -- Legislators, Students Meet -- These University of South Carolina students from Kershaw County and members of the S.C. General Assembly representing the county met last week at the University during one of a series of breakfasts for students and legislators sponsored by the USC student government. Seated are Rep. J. Clator Arrants, Julia Moore and Sen. Donald H. Holland. Standing are Ann Davis, Paul Rowland, Danny Rush and Charlene Matthews. The purpose of these meetings is to promote awareness and understanding among legislators and their home county students at Carolina.

Photo cutline -- Helping Cancer Drive -- Eight Boy Scouts from Camden’s Troop 30 raised money for cancer research by selling “Send A Mouse to College” buttons. Pictured are Al Davis and Randy Arthur. Standing are Chris Byers, Tim Brockman, Larry Lough and John Harrington. Not pictured were Phil Richardson and David Wollard.




Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...