View Mobile Site

Revolutionary War observance marks 230th anniversary of Hobkirk Hill

Posted: May 18, 2011 4:18 p.m.
Updated: May 20, 2011 5:00 a.m.

View More »

A crowd of about 50 people gathered at Kirkwood Common, on the site of the Revolutionary War Battle of Hobkirk Hill in Camden, South Carolina on April 17 to commemorate the 230th anniversary of The Battle of Hobkirk Hill fought on April 25, 1781.

Britney King, Commander; Crystal Phillips and Allison Carberry, Sword Bearers of the Lugoff-Elgin High School Colonial Color Guard joined by members of NSSAR posted the colors.

Mrs. Elva Pitsenbarger, Regent of the Hobkirk Hill Chapter, welcomed everyone, and introduced special guests. Sarah Sullivan led the Pledge of Allegiance and Brenda Sullivan led The American’s Creed. Invocation was given by Rev. Dr. William Summers, Bethesda Presbyterian Church.

John F. Miller of the Hobkirk’s Hill Society recounted the story and details of the battle.

Wreaths were placed by the following:
Mark Anthony, President, S. C. Society Sons of the American Revolution
Daniel Morgan Chapter, NSSAR
Douglas Doster, Vice President, S. C. Society Sons of the American Revolution
Battle of Eutaw Springs Chapter NSSAR
Daniel Woodruff, State Secretary, S. C. Sons of the American Revolution
Col. Robert Anderson Chapter NSSAR
William Vartorella, Joseph Kershaw Chapter NSSAR
Denise Lane, Regent, Joseph Kershaw Chapter NSDAR
Mary Catherine Miller, Hobkirk Hill Chapter NSDAR
Ron Dorgay, Col. Thomas Taylor Chapter NSSAR

William Vartorella, President of the Joseph Kershaw Chapter NSSAR, presented a Certificate of Commendation to John Miller in Recognition of Exemplary Patriotism in the display of the Flags of the United States of America at Battle of Hobkirk Hill Celebrations.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2018 Chronicle Independent All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...