By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Proctor Hall showcases history, elegance
Proctor 6 Web
Louise C. Proctor Hall, which was built in 1823, was left to the Ladies of Camden by owner Louise C. Proctor. The property has been, and continues to be, a venue for a variety of social functions. Events coming up soon include a craft fair Sept. 23-24 and the third annual Haunted Tour on Oct. 13. In addition, Proctor Hall will be on the Junior Welfare Leagues Candlelight Tour of Homes in December. - photo by Jim Tatum
Louise C. Proctor Hall, one of the most historic and elegant properties in Camden, is undergoing a bit of a makeover these days, thanks to its dedicated board of directors, membership, and a small group of volunteers. According to the history of Proctor Hall, the home and grounds, located on Lyttleton Street in Camden, was built by local business leader and Camden Mayor Thomas Durham Salmond around 1823. His eldest son, Dr. Edward Anderson Salmond, married and had a son, Henry Cook Salmond.

Log In To Read

Subscribe to access more great content!