By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Godbold-Nash Memorial Scholarships presented
Godbold-Nash Memorial -Baker
Kirsten Baker (second from left) also received a 2012 Godbold-Nash Memorial Ride Scholarship from (left to right) Napper, Floyd, Coleman and Pitts.
Kershaw County’s Kirsten Baker, of Lugoff-Elgin High School, and Kenneth Jamal Jackson, of Camden High School, received this year’s annual Godbold-Nash Memorial Scholarship for 2012 school year. On July 2, Gayle Pitts, of the Godbold-Nash Memorial Ride; Paul Napper, of the ALPHA Center; and Camden Police Department (CPD) Chief Joseph Floyd and CPD COP officer Tyrell Coleman, awarded scholarships to the two high school seniors. The Godbold-Nash Memorial Scholarship is named in memory of Troopers H. Merl Godbold, who was stationed in Kershaw County, and Jonathan Shea Nash, who was escorting the Godbold Memorial Ride on September 19, 2009, when his motorcycle was hit and he was killed.