By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Jones to lead school board
school board.JPG
The new slate of officers for the Kershaw County Board of School Trustees sworn in at Tuesday mornings meeting includes (first row, from left) Kim Horton Durant, vice chairman; Mara Jones, chairman; and Carol Thompson, chaplain. They are joined by school trustees (second row, from left) Matt Irick, Dr. Donald Copley, Shirley Halley, Joey Dorton, Nissary Wood and Jim Smith and Superintendent Dr. Frank Morgan. - photo by Miciah Bennett
(The online version of this story has been corrected to accurately reflect that former school board chairman Joey Dorton did not resign from that position, but chose not to be reelected. The C-I regrets the error.) Mara Horton Jones was unanimously elected chairman Tuesday of the Kershaw County Board of School Trustees at the first board meeting of the year. With the election of Kim Horton Durant as the new vice chairman and Carol Thompson as chaplain, the trio will come together this year to create an all-female group of officers.