By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Leaders Today, Leaders Tomorrow
Graduation dinner honors Junior Leadership Class 2011-12
outstanding junior leadership student.JPG
Samantha Woods (center) of North Central High School received the 2012 Outstanding Junior Leadership Student of the Year award at annual graduation dinner celebration. The award was presented by Junior Leadership Chair Laurie Parks (left) and S.C. Rep. Laurie Slade Funderburk (right) on behalf of former S.C. Rep. Robert J. Sheheen in whose honor the award is named.

The 2011-12 Junior Leadership Kershaw County program honored 29 juniors and seniors during its recent annual graduation dinner at the Robert Mills Courthouse in Camden. The celebration concluded the program’s 24th year.

Students representing Camden, Lugoff-Elgin and North Central high schools and Camden Military Academy received plaques in recognition of completing the year-long program, which is a joint venture of the Kershaw County Chamber of Commerce and Visitors Center, Kershaw County School District (KCSD) and Camden Military Academy.

The graduates and their guests heard special remarks by keynote speaker Brooks Harper of Lexington, an author of career development books which help youth and young professionals uncover their talents, skills and abilities that bring tangible value to the market place. 

Also addressing those in attendance were students representing each of the participating schools. They included Callie Olano of Camden High School, Blake Holmes of Camden Military Academy, Layla Ferjani of Lugoff-Elgin High School and Chris Turner of North Central High School.

KCSD Superintendent Dr. Frank Morgan and Camden Military Academy Headmaster Col. Eric Boland presented each graduate with a plaque and a class photo taken on the steps of the State House.

Samantha Woods of North Central received the Robert J. Sheheen Outstanding Junior Leadership Student of the Year award, which honors the former Kershaw County state representative and Speaker of the House.

The award recognizes a Junior Leadership student who demonstrates exemplary leadership qualities during the program year. Rep. Laurie Slade Funderburk presented the award on Sheheen’s behalf.

The 2011-12 Junior Leadership year began last August when students attended a two-day retreat and participated in a ropes challenge and team-building course at the Gravatt Camp and Conference Center outside Aiken

The class community service project involved helping with the Kershaw County Special Olympics which was held April 13 on the campus of Camden Military Academy.

Other programs and activities during the year covered cultural diversity, youth court, dining etiquette, job interviewing skills, touring each of the high schools, and visiting the State House in Columbia to meet the local legislative delegation.

The 2011-12 Junior Leadership graduates include the following:

Camden High School -- Corey Blanks, Davis Goodrich, Amber Jackson, Lucas Joseph, Callie Olano, Alexandra Stephens, Katie Tiller, Roderick Todd and Brianna Woods.

Camden Military Academy -- Alexander Drinnen, Blake Holmes, Nick Pinelli, Alexander Trznadel, Cason Vogel and Alex Webster.

Lugoff-Elgin High School -- Kyle Ballard, Kaylee Boone, Taylor Cornor, Layla Ferjani, Carrie Lynch, Ashley Martin and Liz Ranges.

North Central High School -- BriAnna Alexander, Carman Fowler, Andrew Galuppi, Megan Moseley, Tyler Tollison, Chris Turner and Samantha Woods.

The 2012-13 class will be selected by their schools and announced this month.