By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Leininger is 2013 KCSD Teacher of the Year
Teacher of the Year - First Year
Third-grade teacher Chrystal Barker, of Wateree Elementary School, was named Outstanding First Year Teacher. Barker was selected from a total of three first year honor roll teachers. Pictured with her (left to right) are KCSD Superintendent Dr. Frank Morgan; Substation II-Lugoff owner, John Thomas; Kershaw County School Board of School Trustees Vice-Chair Kim Horton Durant; and Chair Mara Jones. - photo by Miciah Bennett
North Central Middle School (NCMS) teacher Brian Leininger is the Kershaw County School District’s 2013 Teacher of the Year (TOY), selected at the district’s annual gala Monday evening. KCSD teachers, administration and community members attended the gala, held at Camden High School (CHS), to celebrate all of the KCSD teachers chosen to represent each of the district’s 20 schools, plus a teacher from the Special Education Activities Geared for Unique Learning (SEAGUL) program. The district named Camden Elementary School (CES) fourth-grade teacher Alana Powers as 2013 TOY first alternate.