By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School News - June 25, 2014
Local students graduate, make honor rolls at Citadel
Placeholder Image

Collins Marker Gundling and Pierre Joyner, both of Camden, recently graduated from The Citadel.

The Citadel has announced the names of cadets honored for outstanding academic achievement during the spring 2014 semester. Dean’s List recognition is earned by those registered for 12 or more semester hours whose grade point ratio is 3.2 or higher with no grade below a C for the previous semester’s work.

Gundling and Joyner are also among other local students included on spring 2014 Dean’s List:

Cadets Henry DeLoach, Robert Dudley and  Thomas Jordan of Camden; Paul Glasser and Ryan Moore of Elgin; Jacob Wells of Heath Springs; Christopher Gibson of Lugoff; and Dylan Cruz of Ridgeway.

Wells of Heath Springs is also among those appearing on the Spring 2014 Gold Stars list. Rising seniors as well as Junior and Sophomore Gold Star cadets will receive their stars at Parade on Sept. 26 and have earned the right to display the stars on their uniforms for the fall semester.

Members of The Citadel Class of 2014 were recognized for excellence in leadership, service and academics on May 10.


Dana Oree, of Elgin, has been named to the 2014 Spring Semester/Term 4 Provost’s List at Troy University.

The Provost’s List honors students who have earned a 3.65 or higher Grade Point Average during the previous academic period.

Troy University is a public, internationally recognized institution serving a broad range of students on four campuses in Alabama.


Lander University announces its President’s List, Dean’s List and Freshman Honors for spring semester 2014. Undergraduates who have earned a grade point average (GPA) of 4.0 out of a possible 4.0 are on the President’s List. Those with a GPA of 3.5 to 3.9 are on the Dean’s List, while freshmen with a GPA between 3.0 and 3.49 earn Freshman Honors.

President’s List: Katlyn E. Boulware, Lugoff; Nastasha S. Green, Elgin; Channa P. Griham, Elgin; Kristen M. Jeffers, Lugoff; and Meagan B. Owens, Lugoff.

Dean’s List: Sherman M. Glover, Elgin; Dazsa L. Harris, Kershaw; and Joseph E. McClain, Lugoff.

Freshman Honors: Courtney R. Johnston, Lugoff.


William Cunningham, of Elgin, graduated from Columbus State University with a MED in Educ Leadership - Online following the spring 2014 semester.

Just 100 miles southwest of Atlanta, Columbus State enrolls more than 8,300 students in nationally distinctive programs in the arts, education, business, nursing and more. CSU offers a wide variety of degree programs, from online degrees, which are ranked among the best nationwide, to a doctorate in education.


Alice Jensen, of Elgin, S.C., has been named to the Dean’s List at Lycoming College for the spring 2014 semester.

Lycoming College is located in Williamsport, Pa.


Dr. David S. Wood, provost of Wofford College, has announced Dean’s List students for the Spring 2014 semester, including:

Adam Isaiah Wirth of Elgin.

Harmony Karole White of Elgin.

Jessica Dawn LeGrand of Lugoff.

Jordan Walker Crosby of Elgin.

Kayla Denise Branham of Ridgeway.

Branham is among several local students who graduated from Wofford on May 18. She earned a B.S. degree in Psychology and graduated magna cum laude. She is the daughter of Jay and Dee Dee Branham.

Casey Lee Bolton, whose parents, Michael and Anne Bolton are from Ridgeway, earned a B.A in Art History.

Jared Matthew Singleton, son of Timothy and Sheryl Singleton, of Lugoff, earned a B.A. degree in Finance.

Wofford College, established in 1854, is an independent liberal arts college of 1,600 students in Spartanburg.


Berry College recently celebrated 425 new graduates May 10. Among them were Megan Woodall (B.S., Animal Science) and Sarah Yeakel (B.S., Marketing), both of Elgin.

Guest speaker Roxanne Spillett, president emeritus of the Boys & Girls Clubs of America and the newest member of the Berry College Board of Trustees, gave the graduates an inspiring speech. Spillett was selected as one of the “Power 50” by the Non-Profit Times for three consecutive years. She received the “Excellence in National Executive Leadership Award”, was cited as one of the “15 People Who Make America Great” and was appointed by George W. Bush to the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation.

Berry College is located near Rome, Ga.


Jacob Hoyt, of Camden, graduated with a B.S. in Biology from Lenoir-Rhyne University during this year’s annual commencement ceremony held on May 16. The graduation ceremony took place in the Helen and Leonard Moretz Stadium in the heart of the LR’s Hickory campus.

More than 250 students were awarded diplomas at this, the culmination of their academic careers unto this point.

Lenoir-Rhyne University is a private, coeducational university with its primary campus in Hickory, N.C.


Alison E. Smith of Gales Ferry, daughter of Elizabeth Hammack of Lugoff and a member of the Class of 2014 at Colby College in Waterville, Maine, was elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa this spring. Membership in the society is one of the highest academic honors an undergraduate student can achieve.

Smith, who majored in biology with a concentration in cell and molecular biology/biochemistry, was one of 48 students to be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at Colby.

The Phi Beta Kappa society, founded in 1776, restricts its chapters to leading colleges and universities. The Beta Chapter of Maine was organized at Colby in 1895.


Emily Swan, of Elgin, qualified for the Spring 2014 Dean’s List at Belmont University, Nashville, Tenn.