By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Smith, Halley are school board chair, vice chair
Proctor elected as chaplain
School Board - Halley Web
Kershaw County Board of School Trustees member Shirley Halley (left) smiles at Chairman Dr. James Smith as she completes taking the oath of office as the boards newly elected vice chair, as Superintendent Dr. Frank Morgan, who administered the oath, applauds. - photo by Martin L. Cahn
The Rev. Dr. James P. Smith is the new chairman of the Kershaw County Board of School Trustees. Trustee Ron Blackmon, in his last act as the board’s former chair, nominated Smith, who was elected unanimously during a special daytime meeting on Tuesday morning. Smith, who is the senior pastor of St. Matthew United Methodist Church, won Seat 5 in June 2016 defeating the incumbent trustee, Louis Clyburn by a two to one margin.