By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
A hearty welcome home for All-America City delegates
Four Mayors Web
IN DEVNER: South Carolina mayors in Denver include (from left) Columbia Mayor Steve Benjamin, Camden Mayor Alfred Mae Drakeford, Elgin Mayor Melissa Emmons, and Mt. Pleasant Mayor Will Haynie. - photo by Johnny Deal
Laurey Carpenter stepped off the bus, faced a crowd of welcoming people and jumped up and down while holding the county’s 2018 All-America City award above her head. Carpenter, executive director of the PLAY Foundation that headed the more than three-year effort to win the award, and most of her fellow All-America City delegates arrived at the Kershaw County Government Center around 6:30 p.m. Monday. They had won one of the National Civic League’s 10 All-America City 2018 awards about 24 hours earlier in Denver, Colo., along with one of only two Youth Leadership Awards, for delegation member Clinton Washington, and the only Social Media award from the league.