By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
On Tucker’s motion, KCC adds fourth set of redistricting maps
Scenario 2b - County
A map of Kershaw County Council’s six single-member districts under Scenario 2b, which council added for consideration on second reading of its redistricting ordinance during its meeting Tuesday following a motion from Vice Chair Sammie Tucker Jr. It would maintain District 2 (held by Tucker) as the county’s only majority-minority district while also hewing closer to a federally mandated requirement for an equal number of voters in each district.
Kershaw County Council unanimously passed a motion made by Vice Chair Sammie Tucker Jr. during its meeting Tuesday adding a fourth set of proposed redistricting maps to consider when council takes a final vote in December. Redistricting the county’s six district seats (a seventh, at-large seat, is held by the council chairman) is necessary every 10 years in conjunction with new data from the decennial U.S. Census.