By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Special election for Mickles Kershaw County Council seat set for March 29
Also, Spivey earns national jail administrator certification
KCC-Spivey for Jump Page
Kershaw County Council Chairman Julian Burns (far right) congratulates Kershaw County Detention Center (KCDC) Administrator Peggy Spivey during councils meeting Tuesday evening on earning her national Certified Jail Administrator designation. Spivey is now one of only 14 jail administrators in South Carolina to earn national certification. Celebrating with her are former KCDC administrator and current Councilman Jimmy Jones (far left) and Kershaw County Administrator Vic Carpenter. - photo by Martin L. Cahn
A special election to fill the District 1 Kershaw County Council seat recently vacated by Willie Mickle is set for March 29, according to County Voter Registration Director John Caughman. Caughman said if more than one person files for their party’s nomination to fill the seat, a primary would be held on Feb. 9. If necessary, a runoff would be held Feb. 23.