By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
ETC amends Elgin Citizen of the Year procedures
Elgin Town Council with Harriet
Elgin Mayor Melissa Emmons (second from right) presents Harriet Reid of the United Way of Kershaw County (center), with a copy of a proclamation designating Nov. 15-21 as National Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week. Council members (from left) Brad Hanley, Ed Smith, Dana Sloan and Candy Silvers joined in the presentation. - photo by Tenell Felder
On a 3-2 vote, Elgin Town Council voted to amend procedures for the town’s Citizen of the Year award during its Nov. 3 meeting. The amended procedures now include making sitting council members ineligible to win the award. The revised procedure will go into effect this year.