By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Smith, Sloan are new Elgin council members
Also, youth honored by police chief
Cheifs Award
Elgin Police Chief Harold Brown (left) presents his Chiefs Award to 13-year-old Abigail Branham for alerting authorities to an adults illegal behavior. - photo by C-I staff photo
Ed Smith and Dana Sloan are the newest members of Elgin Town Council following an election Tuesday. Smith automatically won his seat, recently vacated by Larry Risvold, by virtue of being the only person officially on the ballot. Sloan, who missed the official candidate registration period, ran as a write-in candidate for the seat most recently held by Roger Ross, who decided not to seek reelection.