By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Commercial vegetable growers meeting Thursday
Randy Cubbage
Placeholder Image

Clemson Extension Agent Tony Melton reminds local vegetable growers of the upcoming commercial vegetable meeting Thursday at the Compass Restaurant near Turbeville. The meeting begins at 10 a.m., includes lunch, and adjourns at 1 p.m. Clemson Extension vegetable specialists Drs. Richard Hassell, Tony Kienath and Powell Smith will be presenters in addition to Melton. If you are considering growing commercial vegetables or small fruits in 2011, this will be an informative event for you.

March 4 is the date for the multi-county peanut meeting. This event takes place at the S.C. Cotton Museum located on Cedar Lane in Bishopville at noon.

Dr. Jay Chapin, Clemson Extension peanut specialist, will be the featured presenter and will talk from his 2011 Peanut Money Maker Booklet. The state peanut meeting held in Orangeburg again this season witnessed more than 300 in attendance recently. If you did not make this one, you will certainly be updated on some of those issues at the upcoming event in Bishopville. Pesticide recertification credit will be offered for most of the above events.

The new private applicator recertification cycle began Jan. 1 for the next five-year cycle that concludes at the end of December 2014. Clemson Extension offers its programs to people of all ages, regardless of race, color, sexual orientation, marital status, or political beliefs and is an equal opportunity employer. If you need special assistance due to a disability in order to attend one of these events, contact your Extension meeting coordinator in advance.

State corn and soybean yield winners announced

The S.C. Corn and Soybean Association held its annual meeting at Thomas Durant’s Wagon Trail Shooting Sports Facility in Sumter County Feb. 3. The 2010 Palmetto Yield Contest winners were: irrigated corn -- Jameson Farms at 273.892 bushels/A; Daniel Garrick Jr. at 262.634; and Terry Jarrell at 251.390. Non-irrigated corn yield winners were: Toey Lee at 268.251 bushels/A; Tommy Lee at 241.124; Zan and Billy Tomlinson at 237.238.

Irrigated soybean yield winners were: Luther Kneece at 71.909 bushels/A; Jason Carter at 63.35; and C.W. Backman at 55.275. Non-irrigated soybean winners were: Jason Gamble at 84.056 bushels/A; Steven Gamble at 76.578; and Blake McIntyre at 52.52. Congratulations to these folks for 2010. Monetary awards were presented with a plaque to each of the winners