By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Community service leaders
Brooks, Melanson honored at United Way banquet
United Way volunteers.JPG
United Way of Kershaw County Partner Agency Volunteer of the Year award recipients included (first row, from left) Jeanne Owen, Amanda Robey, Dr. Shelley Janssen, Wilma Allen, Joe Melanson, (second row) Edward Hinson, Karen Eckford, Dennis Ray, Tammy Jackson (accepting for GAs of Trinity Baptist), Kevin Rhodes, Brandon Hicks, Remond Cooper, Dale Sheheen, Todd Horton, and Charles Dease.
The United Way of Kershaw County (UWKC) honored Dr. Alice Brooks with the Jake Watson Award during its banquet Feb. 9. The Jake Watson Award is given to a community member who has shown a steadfast commitment to helping others. Brooks is the medical director and chair of the board of directors for Kershaw County Community Medical Clinic.