By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Delta Sigma Theta’s 40th year
DST Sorority
Charter members of the Camden Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. (from left) Barbara Layton, Darcella W. Pindar, Margaret C. Lawhorn, Laureate Jones-Burton, Rebecca Pinkney-Thomas, and Shirley L. Halley, gathered recently to celebrate its 40th year of scholarship. Not pictured are founding members Rudine Nelson, Sheila Drakeford-Johnson, Patrice McLeod Davis, Iona Hatten (deceased), Cynthia Murray James (deceased), and Roberta Hogan Mill (deceased).
The Camden Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., recently celebrated 40 years of scholarship, sisterhood and service in Kershaw County and bordering Ridgeway community. Chartered on Feb. 28, 1982, the chapter celebrated its 40th anniversary in grand style on June 11, honoring the 12 women of vision and purpose who chartered the chapter. Attendants said it was a joyous gathering of sorority members fashionably dressed in their official colors of crimson and cream with pearl accessories.