By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Theres a new sheriff in town
Boan defeats Bell, 67 to 33 percent
Election Day - Boan and Martin Web
C-I WEB EXTRA: Newly elected Kershaw County Sheriff Lee Boan (left) checks his phone for updates from the polls during a vote watch party at the Kershaw County Recreation Department on Tuesday night as Nikki Martin (sitting) looks up at a projection of polling numbers shes entered on a spreadsheet. In the background, Boans wife, Jennifer McElveen (far right) speaks with a supporter while Tyrrell Coleman (back, center), who will transition from the Camden Police Department to be Boans chief of patrol, talks on his phone. - photo by Martin L. Cahn
Lee Boan, currently serving as the Camden Police Department’s (CPD) captain of operations, will be Kershaw County’s new sheriff come January 2019. Boan overwhelmingly defeated Democratic candidate Anthony S. Bell two-to-one, with 66.85 percent of the vote to Bell’s 32.96 percent. Fifteen thousand seven hundred twenty-four people voted for Boan compared to 7,754 people who voted for Bell.