By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FAC of Kershaw County announces volunteer and service awards
Kristin Karen
Karen Eckford and Kristin Cobb

Earlier this season, board members, donors, community leaders
and friends gathered in the Jim and Pat Watts Performing Arts
Wing at the Fine Arts Cetner (FAC) of Kershaw County recently
to celebrate the commitment and dedication of several key volunteers
and leaders involved with the FAC.
The annual meeting, led by FAC board president Mary Jones,
offered the opportunity to review the previous year’s accomplishments,
look ahead to the new season, meet new board members
and congratulate the recipients of these awards.
The Harriet Phelps Service Award recognizes someone who, like
Phelps, has given diligently of labor and energy to the FAC. It recognizes
Phelps’ determination and sustained efforts and her role as
a principal driving force bring the FAC into existence. This year’s
recipient was Karen Eckford. Eckford served on the FAC board for
seven years and served as chair from 2010-12. She has been instrumental
in the success of many fundraising projects including
the Camden Kitchen Tour, Gala and Auction and Polo. She is the
senior Vice President and Market Executive of NBSC a division
of Synovus Bank in Camden. She is very active in the community
and serves on numerous boards in the area.
A n o t h e r i m p o r t a n t award was the Volunteer of the Year, which was
presented by FAC Facilities and Volunteer Director Margaret Bishop to longtime
v o l u n t e e r Cindy Rhame. Rhame is a Camden native and has
been involved with the FAC both in the front office and at various
events for many years. She is well-loved and is a dedicated volunteer always willing to help.
The Ben Bostick Vision Award recognizes someone who, like Bostick,
had the vision to look into the future. It is a special combination
of wisdom and practical implementation of the ideal that has
insured the long range success of the FAC. This year’s award was
given to the Frederick S. Upton Foundation, a major, long-time
FAC supporter. The Upton Foundation is managed by the family
of Sibby Wood, a long-time advocate and founding member of the
A surprise recognition occurred during the evening when Wood
was honored with a proclamation fron the state legislature naming
August 18 “Sibby Wood Day” in the state of South Carolina.
Arranged by Jones and Kershaw County S.C. State Rep. Laurie
Slade Funderburk, Wood was presented a certificate by Robert
Slade, Funderburk’s borther and a past Brevard Scholarship winner.
Robert Slade is a prime example of the positive influence of
the FAC of the arts in general. He attended Brevard Music School
on a scholarship from the FAC made possible by the Upton Foundation.
Today, he is a respected music educator.
At the end of the evening, the board of directors elected new
board members: Laurey Carpenter, Lauren Reeder and Dennis
Stuber. Retiring from the board this year were Eckford and Edwin
For more information about the FAC’s programs, call 425-7676
or visit The FAC is located at 810 Lyttleton
St., in Camden. Hours are Monday through Wednesday and
Friday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Thursday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.