By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Heritage Tea 2014 Winners Announced
Heritage Tea winners are (front row, from left) Colby Chirstofaro, Patrick Koeppen, Isabella DeNardo-Kaczmarek, Colin Clay, Lacy Mauldin, Dominic Hylton, Preston Childs (back row, from left) Brooke Grant, William Lloyd, Matthew Flowers, Katie Sutherland, Breanna Bowen and Tierra Brown.


The Fine Arts Center (FAC) of Kershaw County presented awards February 25 to Kershaw County students who participated in the 2014 Heritage Tea. Students in grades three through eight from across the county worked on projects reflective of cultural heroes and legends in celebration of Black History Month in an art project competition. Judges presented awards to all winners as well as to the teachers of first place winners. Organizers dedicated the Tea to the memories of Louisa Watkins, Harrison Bennett, Ruby Minton and the students of the Civil Rights movement.

The 2014 Heritage Tea Winners are listed below with the schools noted in parentheses:

Third Grade

1st place -- Colin Clay (Jackson Elementary)

2nd place -- Keaton Heitger (Blaney Elementary)

3rd place -- Dominic Hylton (Baron Dekalb Elementary)

Fourth Grade

1st place -- Abby Seay (Lugoff Elementary)

2nd place -- Lacy Mauldin (Jackson Elemtary)

3rd place -- Preston Childs (Wateree Elementary)

Fifth Grade

1st place -- Isabella DeNardo-Kaczmarek (Jackson Elementary)

2nd place -- Patrick Koeppen (Lugoff Elementary)

3rd place -- Aila Dow (Doby’s Mill)

Sixth Grade

1st place -- Colby Chirstofaro (Lugoff-Elgin Middle)

2nd place -- William Lloyd (Lugoff-Elgin Middle)

3rd place -- Brooke Grant (Lugoff-Elgin Middle)

Seventh Grade

1st place -- Ashley Wilder (Lugoff-Elgin Middle)

2nd place -- Ashli Messer (Lugoff-Elgin Middle)

3rd place -- Matthew Flowers (North Central Middle)

Eighth Grade

1st place -- Katie Sutherland (North Central Middle)

2nd place -- Breanna Bowen (North Central Middle)

3rd place -- Tierra Brown (Camden Middle)

Judges for the Heritage Tea projects included Cynthia Boykin, Bernard Brown, Bruce Rodgers, Joy Claussen Scully, Evelyn Gibson, Shirley Halley, Beverly Hunter, E.J. Ham, Vivian Metze, Rudine Nelson, Mollye Robinson, Linda Shaylor, Marge Smalls, Ollie T. Brisbane, Karen Wendell and Claudia Wood.

For more information about the FAC, call 425-7676, extension 300, or visit the FAC website at  The FAC is located at 810 Lyttleton St., in Camden. Office hours are Monday through Wednesday and Friday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Thursday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The FAC is funded in part by the Frederick S. Upton Foundation and the S.C. Arts Commission, which receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional funding provided by the city of Camden, Kershaw County and BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina along with donations from businesses and individuals.