By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
ATECs nursing students win HOSA awards
ATEC nursing students and staff include (front row, from left) Michelle Williams, Kenya Bennett, Jauckline Harrell, Heather Murray, Bethany Reeves, Heather Post, (second row, from left) Dawn Bradley, Sandy Rankin, Payton Stanley, Erica Trapp, Ali Freezon, (third row, from left) Joana Nobrega, Shameka Wood, Renee Blackwell, Nikki Bingham, Tara Truesdale, Steven Simpson, Michael Edmonds, (fourth row, from left) Leslie Bedford, Sharon Clyburn, RN,MN Coordinator, Laura Marshall, RN,BSN Instructor, Crystal May, Tammy Pugh, RN,MAT Instructor, Kayla Patterson, and Brittany Crowley.
Nervous jitters, outbursts of laughter; the sounds of more than 963 students and advisors once again converged on the North Charleston Convention Center for the 2011 Health Occupation Students of America (HOSA) State Leadership Conference, March 9-11. The convention provided two and a half days of educational symposiums, competitive events, exhibits, general sessions and the opportunity to network with students and health care partners from all over the state.HOSA is national student organization endorsed by the U.S. Department of Education and the Health Science Education Division of ACTE. HOSA’s two-fold mission is to promote career opportunities in the health care industry and to enhance the delivery of compassionate, quality health care by providing opportunities for knowledge, skill and leadership development of all health science technology education students. Twenty-two students from the Applied Technology Education Campus (ATEC) Nursing Program attend and competed.