By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FAC celebrates successful Heritage Tea
Placeholder Image

The Fine Arts Center (FAC) of Kershaw County recently held its annual Heritage Tea Program, a Multi-Cultural Committee event recognizing the talents of students in the Kershaw County School District for their Black History Month projects. Grades three through eight in the district were invited to participate. Awards were given for first, second and third place winners from each grade level. The Camden High School Gospel Choir provided entertainment.

Senator Vincent Sheheen gave a special tribute to honor the memory of the nine people who lost their lives at Emmanuel AME Church in Charleston. Piggly Wiggly of Camden sponsored the event.

This year’s participants included Kayla Alexander, Madison Bantum, Delaney Beckley, Amariya Benson, Brooklyn Best, Mary Ashton Blanks, Kaylen Bowen, Joy Bowling, Jayda Bracey, Lacie Brewer, Kenneth Britt, AJ Bryson, Samantha Burriss, Michael Cales, Kenya Campbell, Rylee Carraway, William Carter, Bryceson Catoe, Jared Chavez, Tomie Christofaro, Will Coble, Cherish Commander, Allana Cook, Bryli Corley, Kylie Cox, Alan Cubberley, Tykein Curry, Sora Danzy, Harley Davis, Madison Doyle, Brendan Echevarria, Jason Entzminger, Jylil Favor, Elijah Fletcher, Lindsay Freezon, Sebastian Gainey, Jennifer Gallegos, JT Gandy, Morgan Gardner, Skye Gause, Donovan Gee, Abby Grace Knafelc, Ava Greenway, Meg Grumbach, Ben Hanson, Patience Harvey, Jaden Hayes, Bryson Hayes, Hope Hendrix, Zion Higgins, Blaize Hill, Samantha Hinson, Lyric Izzard, Hailey Jade Medlock, Craig Jeffers, Zachariah Jefferson, Serena Johnson, Shykim Johnson, Jamera Johnson, Ganeja Jones, Madison Jones, Stephany Jordan, Brandon Kahkola, Kirsten Kahkola, Lamar Keitt, Kyrstin King, Logan Knight, Dylan Lane Locklear, Shane Lee, Kellen Lee, Jules Lemonds, Lia Lopez, Trevor Lucas, Eleanor Maconi, Laila Marchman, Stephanie Martinez, Trever Mattox, Madison Maynor, Mathew McCaa, Irelyn McCaskill, Kayland Mearns, Hannah Mendenhall, Purpose Mills, Lazhane Mobley, Granger Morgan, Donnia Naama, Khadophie Outten, Massimo Parrnison, Giselle Piutio, Rodrika Plant, Laura Pollock, Briley Ray, Noah Redfearn, Madalynn Riggins, Olivia Ritchie, Kinsley Roberts, William Robertson, Olivia Robertson, Laurel Rodgers, Madison Rogers, Hayley Russell, Gabby Rutland, Logan Seegars, Aubrey Seeley, Brannon Smith, Kyle Smith, Peyton Stanley, Carlee Statham, Sean Steel, Jadon Thomas, Gabe Thomley, Connor Thompson, Nevaeh Tucker, Zachary Tucker, Seth Turner, Paige Ward, Elizabeth Watkins, Audrey Webb, Tyheim Williams, Andre Wilson, Shanessa Wright, and Olivia Young.

This year’s winners are as follows:

Grade 3:

1st place: Craig Jeffers, Camden Elementary

2nd place: Alan Cubberley, Baron DeKalb Elementary

3rd place: Delaney Beckley, Camden Elementary

Grade 4:

1st place: Ava Greenway, Wateree Elementary

2nd place: Jayda Bracey, Baron DeKalb Elementary

3rd place: Seth Turner, Jackson Elementary

Grade 5:

1st place: Madison Jones, Baron DeKalb Elementary

2nd place: Elijah Fletcher, Baron DeKalb Elementary

3rd place: Mary Ashton Blanks, Camden Elementary

Grade 6:

1st place: Madison Maynor, North Central Middle

2nd place: Hayley Russell, North Central Middle

3rd place: Samantha Hinson, North Central Middle

Grade 7:

1st place: Stephanie Martinez, North Central Middle

2nd place: Sora Danzy, North Central Middle

3rd place: Laura Pollock, North Central Middle

Grade 8:

1st place: Jared Chaves, North Central Middle

2nd place: Kyrstin King, North Central Middle

3rd place: Paige Ward, Lugoff-Elgin Middle

This year’s judges included Sally Brown, Rose Sheheen, Connie Davis Rouse, Beverly Hunter, Florence Darby, Connie Williams, Peggy Burroughs, Latease Barksdale, Linda Shaylor and Debra Edwards.

The FAC is at 810 Lyttleton Street in Camden. Office hours are Monday through Wednesday and Friday, 10 a.m. to5 p.m. and Thursday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. For more information call 803-425-7676, extension 300 or visit the FAC website at