By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Heritage Tea winners announced
Heritage Tea Winners (Web).jpg
Some of the winners of this year’s Heritage Tea Project awards show off their prizes. (MasonFrieburg/HB Visual Arts)

The Fine Arts Center (FAC) of Kershaw County’s Multicultural Committee recently announced the winners of the 2019 Heritage Tea Black History Month Projects. The projects were on display in the Douglas Reed House from Feb. 12 through the awards presentation and ceremony on Feb. 24.

This year’s winners were:

3rd Grade

1st place: Jackson Lamb -- Wateree Elementary

2nd place: Dovie Danko -- Wateree Elementary

3rd place: Rickie Endsley -- Pine Tree Hill Elementary

4th Grade

1st place: Owen Broughton -- Baron DeKalb Elementary

2nd place: Jayden Artis -- Jackson Elementary

3rd place: Luke Henry -- Wateree Elementary

5th Grade

1st place: Kayleigh West -- Bethune Elementary

2nd place: Cole Whitehouse and Michael Spear -- Wateree Elementary

3rd place: Peyton Sims -- Mt. Pisgah Elementary

6th Grade

1st place: Briley Ray -- Camden Middle

2nd place: Shania Mitchell -- North Central Middle

3rd place: Isabella Brown -- North Central Middle

7th Grade

1st place: Brianna Tyan and William Broome -- Lugoff-Elgin Middle

2nd place: Deonna Stokes and Jayda Bracey -- North Central Middle

3rd place: Jesse Hunt -- Lugoff-Elgin Middle

8th Grade

1st place: Katey Krimminger -- North Central Middle

2nd place: Niasia Caldwell -- North Central Middle

3rd place: Jennifer Sutherland -- North Central Middle

This year’s participants included Hanna Alston, Nevaeh Anderson, Gaby Aponte, Aras Argondizzo, Jayden Artis, Maurice Austin, Colt Babic, Kaylee Bass, Kade Baxley, Sidney Belcher, Carley Bell, Lynleigh Bowen, Khloe Boykin, Jayda Bracey, Cauthen Branham, Colby Branham, Hannah Bravo, Malachi Britten, William Broome, Anslee Broughton, Colt Broughton, Owen Broughton, Isabella Brown, Zarai Brown, Caleb Buford, Niasia Caldwell, Arin Campbell, Rylee Carraway, Martavious Carter, Gavin Champion, Katie Granger Chivers, Lillian Chmiel, Serenity Christianson, Kylie Clark, Payten Clark, Brodie Cobb, Eliana Collins, Allana Cook, Sarah Couick, Kelsey Crenshaw, Selena Dais, Dovie Danko and Kiptyn Davis.

This year’s judges wer Wilma Allen, Deborah Bailey, Debbie Bonek, Harriett Brevard, Joanna Craig, Barbara Davis, Karen Eckford, Laura Jones, Mary Jones, Mary Ellen Jordan, Nancy Kalutz, Diane Laffin, Margaret Lawhorn, Bruce Little, Julie Magee,  Brian Mays, Mollye Robinson, Connie Rouse, Betty Slade, Linda Shaylor, Joy Claussen-Scully, Marge Small, Rev. Brian Wieneke, Connie Williams, Nancy Wylie, Margaret Valentine, Sherry Seward, Carol Thompson and Katherine Wright.

The Multicultural Committee consists of Dionne Hough, Claude Eichelberger, Bobbie Daniels, Ann Davis, Barbara Davis, Debra Edwards, Carolyn Ham, Phyllis Harris, Timothy Hopkins, Lola Houston, Christa Jeter, Mary Jones, Mary Ellen Jordan, Leslie Lee, Mollye Robinson, Connie Rouse, Linda Shaylor and Rose Sheheen.