By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Legion honors public safety, legionnaire of the year
Legion Honorees WEB
American Legion Post 17 recognized exemplary area law enforcers and fire fighters during its March meeting. The plaques were crafted by Legionnaire Butch Lilly and presented by Post 17 Commander Clay Carruth. Shown from left are Camden Police Captain Lee Boan; Policeman of the Year, Carl Langrave Smith; Kershaw County Sheriff Jim Matthews; Deputy Sheriff of the Year, Lieutenant Chris Davis; Camden Fire Chief John Bowers; Fireman of the Year, Engineer Abram Johnson; South Carolina Highway Patrol 1st Sergeant M.R. Danback; Patrolman of the Year, Corporal John McWhorter; Trooper 1st Class Everick Patterson; Firefighter of the Year (and member of the Lugoff Fire Department's Swift Water Rescue Team), Lieutenant Gavine Locklear; Post 17 Commander Clay Carruth; Lugoff Fire Chief Dennis Ray (holding plaque awarded to the Swift Water Rescue Team); and Trooper Travis Tiller.
Legion honors public safety, legionnaire of the year

Log In To Read

Subscribe to access more great content!