By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
CHS celebrates its student-athletes at Bulldog Club Banquet
THIRTY-EIGHT CAMDEN HIGH student-athletes earned South Carolina High School League Student-Athlete Awards for students with a grade point average of 3.5 or better and who have lettered in a sport at least twice during their high school years. - photo by Photo by Johnny Deal/Bowtie Photography
Camden High School celebrated its student-athletes at its annual Bulldog Club Banquet held at the school on May 17 with former Camden All-State football player and wrestler and current Clemson University offensive line coach Thomas Austin as the guest speaker. Awards were presented to the following individuals: South Carolina High School League Scholar-Athlete Award (for students with a GPA of 3.5 or higher who have lettered at least twice): Isabel Adams, Makaila Allen, Dymear Atkinson, Gray Batten, Elizabeth Brown, Emma Buchanan, Hamilton Calk, Kristen Carter, Will Conder, Collin Davis, Kadrea Ferguson, Christian Flick, Margaret Guy, Trace Guy, Ben Hayes, Taylor Jordan, Eric Kahler, Paige Kelly, Ryan Kelly, Timmy King, Preston Kohn, Amanda Lane, Kobe Little, Thomas Marshall, Ariyan Massey, Abigail McLaughlin, Laniya Mingo, Connor Morrow, Elizabeth Moses, Connor Newman, Parker Rankin, Dylan Reyes, Alisha Samuel, Morgan Schoolfield, Riley Shelburne, Grace Smith, Kennedi Stokes, Kiaya Weathers, Carlos Williams Baseball: Most outstanding hitter: Nick Butler; Most outstanding pitcher: Will Abbott; Mr. Hustle: Connor Newman; All-Region 4-AAA: Will Abbott, Devin Beckley, Nick Butler, Christian Flick Girls basketball: Most outstanding guard: Janai Crim; Most outstanding post player: Donyea Wilson; All-Region 4-AAA: Janai Crim Boys basketball: Best offensive player: Taylor Kelly; Best defensive player: Tyrone Kelly; Hustle award: Jericho Murphy; All-Region 4-AAA: Taylor Kelly, Tyrone Kelly Cheerleading and dance: Football cheer award: Jamie Green; Basketball dance award: Molly Creel Football: Offensive lineman of the year: Dylan Reyes; Offensive back of the year: Taylor Kelly; Defensive lineman of the year: Tyrone Kelly; Defensive back of the year: Ben Hayes; Specialist of the year: Parker Rankin; Most outstanding player: Taylor Kelly; All-Region 4-AAA: Darrius Clark, Taylor Kelly, Tyrone Kelly, DeShawn Sumpter Girls golf: Most improved: Hannah Douglas; Most valuable: Kiana Jones Boys golf: Most improved: Tariq Johnson; Most valuable: Wills Kelly; All-Region 4-AAA: Wills Kelly Girls soccer: Most valuable offensive player: Chloe Grein; Most valuable defensive player: Riley Shelburne; Most improved player: Estaphania Magana; All-Region 4-AAA: Brooke Galdeen, Shan Woody Boys soccer: Offensive player of the year: Carlos Williams; Defensive player of the year: Todd Kahler; Most outstanding player: Gray Batten; All-Region 4-AAA: Gray Batten, Hamilton Calk Softball: Offensive player of the year: Brianna Dow; Defensive player of the year: Kennedi Stokes; Coaches Award: Amanda Lane; All-Region 4-AAA: Kristen Carter, Brianna Dow, Whitley Kahler, Kennedi Stokes Girls tennis: Most improved: Isabel Adams; Coaches award: Mackenzie Pendleton; Most outstanding player: Serena Hayes Boys tennis: Most improved: Ben Battiata; Coaches award: Wilson Pope; Most valuable player: Thomas Marshall Girls track: Most valuable player in track: Julia Keen; Most valuable player in field: Makaila Allen; All-Region 4-AAA: Heather Woolard Boys track: State winner in the AAA pole vault: Lindsay Pierce; Most valuable player in track: Carlos Williams; Most valuable player in field: Ryan Kelly Girls cross country: Most improved: Mell Boucher; Coaches award: Julia Keen; Most outstanding runner: Abigail McLaughlin Boys cross country: Most improved: K.P. Cassidy; Coaches award: Trace Guy; Most outstanding runner: Garrett Lawson; All-Region 4-AAA: Garrett Lawson Volleyball: Offensive player of the year: Faith Grant; Defensive player of the year: Whitley Kahler; Player of the year: Courtney Chestnut; All-Region 4-AAA: Emma Buchanan, Courtney Chestnut, Faith Grant Wrestling: Most improved: Carlos Williams; Top Dog award: Caid Cokley; Most outstanding: Timmy King; All-Region 4-AAA: Dymear Atkinson, Caid Cokley, Timmy King, Garrit Strunga Student-Athlete Awards (for finishing in the top 10 of the senior class): Elizabeth Brown, Emma Buchanan, Collin Davis, Larkin Kelly, Ryan Kelly, Grace Smith Marcus Warren Memorial Scholarship: Carlos Williams Bulldog Club Scholarships: Abigail McLaughlin, Carlos Williams Female Sportsmanship Award: Kiaya Weathers Male Sportsmanship Award: Dymear Atkinson Female athlete of the year: Kristen Carter Male athlete of the year: Carlos Williams