By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Student-athletes earn honors at Camden Bulldog Banquet
CAMDEN HIGH ATHLETIC DIRECTOR Jimmy Neal presented Tajz Bradley and Lindsay Pierce with their plaques for having been voted the schools female and male athlete of the year, respectively, at the annual Bulldog Banquet held last month. - photo by Johnny Deal
hool on May 16 with former Camden High tennis player Tom Mullikin as the guest speaker. Awards were presented to the following individuals: South Carolina High School League Scholar-Athlete Award (for students with a GPA of 3.5 or higher who have lettered at least twice): John Bailey, Hannah Decker, Devin Beckley, Tajz Bradley, Audrey Buchanan, Nick Butler, John Cantey, William Cobb, Ja‘Nai Crim, Brooke Galdeen, Parker Gogan, Faith Grant, Chance Grein, Natalie Horton, Amearia Houston, Destiny Hunt, Mya Izzard, Tariq Johnson, Henry Kerfoot, Margaret Lackey, Mac Lindsay, Alexis McLeod, Abdy Messinides, Mashylla Murphy, Emma Nash, Sloane Neal, Mikael Nelson, Grace Piccione, Lindsay Pierce, Hunter Sanders, Garrit Strunga, Chris Todd, Trey Watkins, Katie White, De’Ja Wimberly, Shan Woody Baseball: Most outstanding hitter: William Cobb; Most outstanding pitcher: Devin Beckley; Mr. Hustle: Lindsay Pierce; Region 4-AAA Player of the Year: Devin Beckley; Region 4-AAA Coach of the Year: Denny Beckley; All-Region 4-AAA: Devin Beckley, Holden Bunch, Nick Butler, William Cobb, Lindsay Pierce Girls basketball: Most outstanding player: Ja’Nai Crim; Most improved player: Kiasia Hayes; Defensive player of the year: Venus Sumpter; All-Region 4-AAA: Ja’ Nai Crim, Venus Sumpter Boys basketball: Best offensive player: Donovan Belton; Most improved player: Malik Green; Hustle award: Will Warnock; All-Region 4-AAA: Donovan Belton, Devin Martin Cheerleading and dance: Football cheer award: Mya Izzard; Basketball dance award: Audrey Buchanan Football: Offensive lineman of the year: DeShawn Sumpter; Offensive back of the year: Jo Jo Watson; Defensive lineman of the year: William Cobb; Defensive back of the year: Ryland Ayers; Specialist of the year: Brock Dalton; Most outstanding player: Devin Beckley; Region 4-AAA offensive player of the year: Devin Beckley; All-Region 4-AAA: Ryland Ayers, Avery Barnes, Devin Beckley, Jericho Murphy, DeShawn Sumpter, Jo Jo Watson Girls golf: Most improved: Hannah Beben; Most outstanding player: Sloane Neal; Al-Region 4-AAA: Hannah Beben, Olivia Huggins, Ava Neal, Sloane Neal, Grace Piccione Boys golf: Most improved: Patrick Lindsay; Most outstanding player: Wills Kelly; Region 4-AAA player of the year: Wills Kelly; All-Region 4-AAA: Wills Kelly, Patrick Lindsay Girls soccer: Most versatile player: Riley Ellis; Clutch Performer Award: Brooke Galdeen; All-in Award: Shan Woody; All-Region 4-AAA: Brooke Galdeen, Mary Caston Morgan, Venus sumpter, Katie White Boys soccer: Offensive player of the year: Chance Grein; Defensive player of the year: Daniel Martinez; Most outstanding player: J.D. Myers; All-Region 4-AAA: Adby Messinides, Adiel Pena, Hunter Webb Softball: Offensive player of the year: Brianna Dow; Defensive player of the year: Anastasia Lane; Coaches Award: De’Ja Wimberly; All-Region 4-AAA: Brianna Dow, Anastasia Lane Girls tennis: Most improved: Sailor McKoy; Coaches award: Mary Lindsay; Most outstanding player: Mackenzie Pendleton; All-Region 4-AAA: Mackenzie Pendleton Boys tennis: Most improved: Will Galloway; Coaches award: Wilson Pope; Most outstanding player: Mac Lindsay; All-Region 4-AAA: K.P. Cassidy, Mac Lindsay, Wilson Pope Girls track: Most outstanding athlete in track: Julia Keen; Most outstanding athlete in field: Tajz Bradley; All-Region 4-AAA: Tajz Bradley (long jump and triple jump) Boys track: State champion in the AAA pole vault: Lindsay Pierce; Most outstanding athlete in track: Garrett Lawson; Most outstanding athlete in field: Donovan Engram; All-Region 4-AAA: Darrion Clay (110 hurdles), Donovan Engram (discus), Garrett Lawson (1,600 and 3,200 meters), Lindsay Pierce (pole vault) Girls cross country: Most improved: Mell Boucher; Coaches award: McKenzie Taylor; Most outstanding runner: Julia Keen; All-Region 4-AAA: Mell Boucher, Julia Keen Boys cross country: Most improved: Ben Battiata; Coaches award: Chance Grein; Most outstanding runner: Sam Messinides; All-Region 4-AAA: K.P. Cassidy, Garrett Lawson, Grant Maree, Sam Messinides Volleyball: Offensive player of the year: Emma Nash; Defensive player of the year: Whitley Kahler; Most outstanding player: Faith Grant; Region 4-AAA player of the year: Faith Grant; All-Region 4-AAA: Courtney Chestnut, Faith Grant, Whitley Kahler, Emma Nash Wrestling: Most improved: Jevontae Salmond; Top Dog award: Donovan Engram; Most outstanding: Caid Cokley; All-Region 4-AAA: Caid Cokley, Donovan Engram Student-Athlete Awards (for finishing in the top 10 of the senior class academically): John Cantey, Brooke Galdeen, Faith Grant, Katie White Marcus Warren Memorial Scholarship: Ja’Nai Crim Robert Warnock Commitment to Excellence Scholarship: Faith Grant Bulldog Club Scholarships: Audrey Buchanan, John Cantey Female Sportsmanship Award: Shan Woody Male Sportsmanship Award: DeShawn Sumpter Female athlete of the year: Tajz Bradley Male athlete of the year: Lindsay Pierce